$ 10 Million Prize Pot for ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019

$ 10 Million Prize Pot for ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019

By C. Rajshekhar Rao, London, May 17, 2019: The upcoming ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019 will see the winners of the 10-team tournament earn a purse of $ 4 million, the highest prize money to date, along with the trophy that they will lift at Lord’s on 16 July (10 Million Prize Pot).

The total prize pot of $10 Million Prize Pot will see the runners-up assured of $2 million and the losing semifinalists $ 800,000 each at the end of the 46-day tournament being played across 11 venues from 30 May.

There are prizes for each league match won, in what promises to be a competitive tournament with the world’s best playing each other in a round-robin format.

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Prize Money (10 Million Prize Pot)
ICC CWC 2019 – Prize Money AmountTotal
Winners (1) $ 4,000,000$4,000,000 $4,000,000
Runners-Up (1) $ 2,000,000$2,000,000 $2,000,000
Losing Semi-Finalists (2) $800,000$800,000 $1,600,000
Winners of Each League Stage Match (45) $ 40,000$40,000 $1,800,000
Teams that do pass the League Stage (6) $ 100,000$100,000 $600,000
TOTAL $10,000,000 $10,000,000
Winners to get $4 million, Runners-up to get $ 2 million, incentives for winning each of the 45 league matches


The tournament will run from 30 May to 14 July. The semi-finals will be played at Old Trafford in Manchester and Edgbaston in Birmingham on 9 and 11 July respectively, while Lord’s will host the final on 14 July.

11 venues across England and Wales will be used, namely Cardiff Wales Stadium in Cardiff (four matches), Bristol County Ground in Bristol (three matches), County Ground Taunton in Taunton (three matches), Edgbaston in Birmingham (five matches, including the second semi-final), Hampshire Bowl in Southampton (five matches), Headingley in Leeds (four matches), Lord’s in London (five matches, including the final), Old Trafford in Manchester (six matches, including the first semi-final), The Oval in London (five matches, including the tournament opener), The Riverside Durham in Chester-le-Street (three matches) and Trent Bridge in Nottingham (five matches)

The 10 teams in the tournament will play against each other in a single-league format, with the top four sides after 45 matches to qualify for the two semi-finals

England and Wales have previously staged ICC Cricket World Cups in 1975, 1979, 1983 and 1999

Australia is the most successful team in the history of the World Cup, having won events in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015.

The West Indies won the first two editions in 1975 and 1979, while India won in 1983 and 2011. Other winners are Pakistan in 1992 and Sri Lanka in 1996. —- ICC

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *