Record number of entries for Paralympic Awards

Germany, July 03, 2013: The International Paralympic Committee (IPC) has received a record number of entries for the 2013 Paralympic Sport Awards which will be presented in November in Athens, Greece, recognising achievements for the London 2012 Paralympic Games.

The awards, which are partnered by Allianz, will be presented on 23 November, and due to the sheer volume of entries received, the IPC has decided to split the Best Games Debut category into two, covering male and female athletes.

In total, six Sport Awards will now be presented and the shortlist for the following categories will be announced on 4 September:

Best Female Athlete

Best Male Athlete

Best Team Performance

Best Female Paralympic Games Debut

Best Male Paralympic Games Debut

Exemplary Paralympic Games Official

Xavier Gonzalez, the IPC’s Chief Executive Officer, said: “It’s fantastic news that we have received a record number of entries for the 2013 Paralympic Sport Awards, double the number we normally receive.

“It underlines just how good the London 2012 Games were and the remarkable performances put in by athletes, teams and officials. The judges who decide the winners now have the hardest job of all.

“I am sure there will be a lot of interest in the shortlists when they are announced on 4 September and also in November when the winners’ names are called out in Athens.”

The Paralympic Sport Awards have been given out every two years since 2005, and Canada have taken home the most honours, winning five different awards.

In 2009, the last time summer athletes were recognised, winners included two swimmers Australian Matthew Cowdrey and New Zealand’s Sophie Pascoe. Canadian wheelchair racer Chantal Petitclerc and the Australian men’s wheelchair basketball team also picked up accolades.

As well as presenting the Paralympic Sport Awards on 23 November, the Paralympic Media Awards will also be announced honouring the most exceptional members of the international media who covered London 2012 in four categories: Broadcast, Written (print and online), Photo and Radio. The shortlist for these awards will be announced in early September.

A number of people will also receive the Paralympic Order which honours people and organisations that have made outstanding and long-lasting contributions to the Paralympic Movement through their actions, services or remarkable merits.

For more information on the three different awards, please visit:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email





Leave a Reply