IPC Governing Board elections announced

Germany, August 28, 2013: The International Paralympic Committee has today (28 August) announced the names of the candidates who will stand for election to the IPC Governing Board at November’s IPC General Assembly in Athens, Greece.

In total 31 nominations for 28 candidates – two for President, two for Vice President and 27 for Member at Large positions – have been accepted for the elections that will take place on 24 November. Three candidates have been nominated for two positions although can only be elected for one position.

The IPC Governing Board will consist of one President, one Vice President and 10 Members at Large and all will be elected by the IPC membership which consists of National Paralympic Committees, International Sport Federations, International Organisations of Sport for the Disabled (IOSDs) and Regional Organisations. In addition to the elected members, Todd Nicholson, Chairperson of the IPC Athletes’ Council and Xavier Gonzalez, IPC Chief Executive Officer, are ex-officio members of the Governing Board.

The nominees for all roles, listed in alphabetical order, are as follows (Nationality and nominating body in brackets):

For IPC President (one to be elected)

* Sir Philip Craven (GBR – NPC Great Britain)

* Alan Dickson (GBR – CPISRA)

For IPC Vice President (one to be elected)

* Ann Cody (USA – NPC USA)

* Andrew Parsons (BRA – NPC Brazil)

For IPC Members at Large (10 to be elected)

* Zainal Abidin Abu Zarin (MAS – NPC Malaysia)

* Saad Alazma (KUW – NPC Kuwait)

* Mohamed Alhameli (UAE – NPC United Arab Emirates)

* Masoud Ashrafi Khozani (IRI – NPC Iran)

* Michael Barredo (PHI – IBSA)

* Prof. Jose Luis Campo (ARG – NPC Argentina)

* Ann Cody (USA – NPC USA)

* Alan Dickson (GBR – CPISRA)

* Abass Ben Djobo (TOG – NPC Togo)

* Rita van Driel (NED – NPC Netherlands)

* Monday Ochuko Emoghavwe (NGR – NPC Nigeria)

* Ali Harzallah (TUN – NPC Tunisia)

* Anne d’leteren (BEL – NPC Belgium)

* Patrick Jarvis (CAN – NPC Canada)

* Duane Kale (NZL – NPC New Zealand)

* Ratko Kovacic (CRO – NPC Croatia)

* Vladimir Lukin (RUS – NPC Russia)

* Jairus Mogalo (KEN – NPC Kenya)

* Kyung-won Na (KOR – NPC Korea)

* Andrew Parsons (BRA – NPC Brazil)

* John Petersson (DEN – NPC Denmark)

* Dr. Karl Quade (GER – NPC Germany)

* Leonel da Rocha Pinto (ANG – NPC Angola)

* Miguel Sagarra (ESP – NPC Spain)

* Wesley Worrell (BAR – NPC Barbados)

* Yasushi Yamawaki (JAP – NPC Japan)

* Jia Yong (CHN – NPC China)

All nominations have been reviewed against the criteria and conditions for nominations in accordance with the IPC rules and regulations. An IPC Electoral Commission was appointed consisting of Linda Mastandrea, Chairperson, and Mike Peters and Carla Qualtrough as Members. All three are members of the IPC Legal and Ethics Committee and will ensure that all candidates adhere to the IPC Code of Conduct for Candidates to Governing Board Election between now and 24 November when the elections take place.

Xavier Gonzalez, IPC Chief Executive Officer, said: “Announcing the names of all candidates for the IPC Governing Board elections effectively acts as the starting gun for the campaigning to begin.

“Once again we are pleased with the number of nominations from the IPC membership and the geographical spread which sees all five continents putting forward candidates.”

On 22 November in Athens, two days prior to the election, each candidate will have the opportunity to make a presentation on their candidate to the IPC membership attending the IPC Conference.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email





Leave a Reply