Call for Nominations for Visa Paralympic Hall of Fame

For the first time since its introduction six years ago, the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) is calling upon members of the public to nominate retired Paralympians and coaches to be inducted into the Visa Paralympic Hall of Fame during the London 2012 Paralympic Games.

Launched in 2006, by founding partner Visa, the Paralympic Hall of Fame aims to recognize retired athletes and coaches who have a track record of excellent athletic performance, history of fair play and participation in community activities.

This August there will be five new inductees – two female athletes, two male athletes and one coach – to the Visa Paralympic Hall of Fame, all of whom will be chosen by the IPC Governing Board from the nominations submitted by National Paralympic Committees, International Sporting Federations and, this time around, the public can nominate via by 31 March 2012.

To be eligible for induction in the Visa Paralympic Hall of Fame, candidates must have participated in at least two Paralympic Games and won a number of medals or, in the case of a coach, through athlete(s) or team(s) they coached. Candidates must also have retired either before or shortly after the Beijing 2008 Paralympic Games.

With this year’s induction coinciding with the London 2012 Paralympic Games, only athletes and coaches involved in summer sports will be considered.

“Visa’s sponsorship of the Paralympic Hall of Fame recognizes and celebrates the universal values of sportsmanship, excellence and the commitment embodied in these amazing athletes and coaches. It recognizes the great influence they have had on the Paralympic Games and the broader Paralympic Movement,” said Kevin Burke, Chief Marketing Officer, Core Products, Visa Inc. “We are proud to be the presenting sponsor of the Paralympic Hall of Fame and helping to create a permanent record and institutional memory of top Paralympians and coaches.”

Sir Philip Craven, President of the IPC said: “The Visa Paralympic Hall of Fame recognizes those individuals who have not only enjoyed Paralympic Games medal-winning success but have contributed to the Movement in other ways.

“We are grateful to Visa for their continued support of the Hall of Fame and the Paralympic Movement in general.”

The Paralympic Hall of Fame election and induction ceremonies take place every two years and coincide with summer and winter Paralympic Games.

The 2010 Visa Paralympic Hall of Fame inductees included USA’s Paralympian Ambassador and multiple Paralympic champion Chris Waddell, Finland’s 10-time Paralympic gold medallist Tanja Kari and German coach Rolf Hettich.

Visa has been a Worldwide Paralympic Partner and Paralympic Games sponsor since 2002. Visa is also a Worldwide Sponsor of the Olympic Games and will be the exclusive payment services sponsor and only card accepted at the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games.

For more information on the Visa Paralympic Hall of Fame and to find out who has been inducted in the past, please visit

Print Friendly, PDF & Email





Leave a Reply