Brian Lewis is new President of Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee

Trinidad and Tobago, May 07, 2013: Brian Lewis was elected President of the Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee at the Committee’s election at Olympic House, Port of Spain yesterday. Lewis, the former secretary general won the presidency 29-16, beating Richard Young in the race for the top spot.

Lewis replaces Larry Romany as president with Romany unable to contest the elections because of the term limits for the post.

The other members of the new executive are David Inglefield and Dr Terry Ali who are vice-presidents; Annette Knott as secretary; Diane Henderson as assistant secretary general; J. Tyrone Marcus as treasurer; Dr Ian Hypolite, Wendell Constantine and Garvin Warwick as executive members; Kerston Coombs and Douglas Camacho as trustees; and Larry Romany as immediate past president.

The new president was pleased with how the campaign for the presidency was conducted saying: “I think it was an important process for the TTOC to go through at this time and I think the organisation will be stronger for it.

“Richard Young presented a creditable case and valid arguments…Now that the campaigning is over, it is now about all the parties working together for the Olympic movement.

“I am particularly proud that the campaign was contested with a high degree of integrity and dignity at the end, the Olympic movement will come together and I am confident members of the new executive can work together,” he added.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Leave a Reply