Parsons to serve Co-ordination Commission

Germany, Oct 16, 2013: IPC Governing Board member and President of the Brazilian Paralympic Committee, Andrew Parsons, has been appointed to serve on the IOC Co-ordination Commission for Tokyo 2020, the IOC announced on Wednesday (16 October).

The IOC Co-ordination Commission serves as a link between athletes, National Olympic and Paralympic Committees, International Federations and the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) to ensure the proper steps are taken to help deliver a successful edition of the Games in 2020.

The Co-ordination Commission meets yearly until four years out from the Games, at which point it will then meet twice a year. Parsons previously served on the 2020 Games Evaluation Commission.

IOC Vice President John Coates of Australia will be the Chairman of the Tokyo 2020 Co-ordination Commission, and IOC member Alex Gilady of Israel will serve as the Vice Chair.

In addition to Parsons, other members of the Co-ordination Commission will include: Sebastian Coe, Mikaela Cojuangco-Jaworski, Kirsty Coventry, Anita Defrantz, Guy Drut, Habu Gumel, Nicole Hoevertsz, Robin Mitchell, Lydia Nsekera, Irena Szewinska, Marius Vizer and Zaiqing Yu.

Tokyo earned the right to stage the 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Games on 7 September, when it beat the other two candidate cities – Istanbul and Madrid – in a secret ballot vote.

In 1964, Tokyo previously held the Paralympic Games, an event that featured 375 athletes from 21 countries who competed in nine sports – archery, athletics, dartchery, snooker, swimming, table tennis, weightlifting, wheelchair basketball and wheelchair fencing.

More than 5,000 people attended that Opening Ceremony, including the Games’ patrons his Imperial Highness Prince Akihito and Princess Michiko. —- IPC/Photo © Brazilian Paralympic Committee

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Leave a Reply