Turgay Demirel Elected FIBA Europe President

Munich, May 17, 2014: Turgay Demirel is the new President of FIBA Europe for the term of office 2014-2018, elected by the General Assembly of the member federations, in Munich, Germany, on Saturday.

Demirel, 57, is a former Turkish international and the current President of his country’s Basketball Federation. He prevailed over the only other candidate, Daniel Dimevski from the F.Y.R. of Macedonia, collecting 40 votes.

“This is a great honour and I want to thank all countries of Europe for putting their trust in me,” said Demirel after the result was confirmed.

Previously, in his pre-election presentation Demirel had set out the goals for his presidential term:

“My aim is to help make basketball the fastest growing sport in Europe, through support of all 51 member federations, strong club competitions and the development of a new generation of stars. A strong FIBA Europe should help all federations develop young talent as this is the cornerstone for the advancement of our sport.”

Karl Thaller of Austria was elected uncontested as FIBA Europe Treasurer, as the only other candidate and outgoing Treasurer Jan Berteling of the Netherlands withdrew his candidacy on Friday.

The Assembly also elected 23 members of the Board. Those are (in alphabetical order by Federation):
Cyriel Coomans (Belgium)
Mirsad Donlagic (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Georgi Glushkov (Bulgaria)
Zeljko Draksic (Croatia)
Jiri Zidek (Czech Republic)
Antti Zitting (Finland)
Jean-Pierre Siutat (France)
Ingo Weiss (Germany)
Asterios Zois (Greece)
Ivan Bodrogvary (Hungary)
Hannes Jonsson (Iceland)
Dino Meneghin (Italy)
Edgars Sneps (Latvia)
Mindaugas Spokas (Lithuania)
Tor Christian Bakken (Norway)
Grzegorz Bachanski (Poland)
Carmen Tocala (Romania)
Yulia Anikeeva (Russia)
Dejan Bodiroga (Serbia)
Jose Luis Saez (Spain)
Lena Wallin-Kantzy (Sweden)
Harun Erdenay (Turkey)
Oleksandr Volkov (Ukraine). —- FIbaEurope

Print Friendly, PDF & Email





Leave a Reply