FIBA Europe Announces 3×3 European Championships Pools

Germany, August 06, 2014: FIBA Europe announced on Wednesday afternoon the pools for the inaugural 3×3 European Championships which take place from 5-7 September in Bucharest, Romania.

Following three qualifying tournaments which took place across Europe in July and August, 16 Men’s and 16 Women’s teams will now compete for the European crown.

Additionally, by successfully qualifying for the European Championships, all 16 of the men’s teams will next year appear in the 1st European Games which take place in Baku, Azerbaijan, whilst the top 15 women’s teams following the European Championships will join hosts Azerbaijan.

The format of the competition will see every team play the other three teams in their group, with the top two teams from each group advancing to the quarter finals.

The pools are as follows:

Senior Men
Pool A Pool B Pool C Pool D
Serbia (2) Andorra (3) Romania (4) Turkey (7)
Spain (14) Russia (13) Slovenia (10) Lithuania (8)
Czech Republic (15) Estonia (16) Azerbaijan (31) Switzerland (34)
Isarel (50) Belgium (49) Italy (44) Greece (36)
Senior Women
Pool A Pool B Pool C Pool D
Czech Republic (2) Spain (5) Romania (6) Netherlands (7)
Turkey (23) Russia (17) Switzerland (12) Belgium (10)
Lithuania (27) Slovenia (28) Ukraine (30) Slovakia (31)
Greece (49) Latvia (48) Ireland (37) Israel (32)

*The bracketed numbers refer to each team’s FIBA 3×3 World Ranking as of 5 August.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email





Leave a Reply