Women’s Rugby World Cup 2017 logo unveiled in Dublin

Dublin, May 12, 2016: The countdown to Women’s Rugby World Rugby 2017 continued with World Rugby and the Irish Rugby Football Union (IRFU) unveiling a dynamic logo for next year’s showcase event.

Ireland will host the pinnacle women’s 15s competition from 9-26 August, 2017, at venues in Dublin and Belfast.

The vibrant logo was unveiled at University College Dublin with An Taoiseach Enda Kenny TD (Prime Minister of Ireland) in attendance. The Women’s Rugby World Cup 2017 website was also launched.

World Rugby Chairman Bernard Lapasset said: “The Women’s Rugby World Cup has evolved into a major global sporting event and is truly the pinnacle of the women’s 15s game.

“Following the outstanding success of Women’s Rugby World Cup 2014 in France, which engaged millions of fans and inspired so many girls around the world to get into rugby, the focus now turns towards 2017.

“Ireland has been very supportive of the women’s game and I have no doubt that Dublin and Belfast will host a fantastic tournament in August 2017.”

With two million women and girls currently playing the game, Women’s Rugby World Cup 2017 is set to inspire many more. Former Ireland captain Fiona Coghlan, who led her team to a memorable win over New Zealand at the last Women’s Rugby World Cup, said: “There has been a lot of work done to date behind the scenes but today the tournament comes to life and can be seen as something to get really excited about.

“The prospect of Ireland hosting the top international players competing for the biggest prize in the game is hugely exciting.”

The eighth Women’s Rugby World Cup will take place in Ireland in August 2017. The pool stages will take place at University College Dublin (UCD) before moving to Belfast for the play-off rounds which will take place at Queen’s University Sport (QUB) and Kingspan Stadium. The final will be held at Kingspan Stadium on 26 August, 2017.

The logo marries a distinctly Irish flavour to the World Rugby tournament logo. The Celtic design, symbols and pattern represent the heritage of the whole island of Ireland while the four interwoven green strands represent the four provinces of Ireland and the close-knit relationship of rugby on the island.

Women’s Rugby World Cup 2017 key dates
• 12 May, 2016 – Tournament logo launched
• 9 November, 2016 – WRWC 2017 pool draw in Belfast
• December 2016 – Final teams qualify for WRWC 2017
• March 2017 – WRWC 2017 trophy tour commences
• 9 August, 2017 – Women’s Rugby World Cup 2017 begins at UCD, Dublin
• 22 August, 2017 – Semi-finals at QUB and Kingspan Stadium, Belfast
• 26 August, 2017 – WRWC 2017 final takes place at Kingspan Stadium, Belfast. —- worldrugby

Print Friendly, PDF & Email






Leave a Reply