BNP Paribas World Team Cup wheelchair tennis event

Seoul-Korea, May 27, 2012: wheelchair tennis event, Please find below the latest results from the 2012 BNP Paribas World Team Cup taking place in Seoul, Korea on 21-27 May. Teams are competing in four categories: men, women, quad and junior. A total of 52 teams from 28 nations are taking part in the ITF’s flagship wheelchair tennis team event.

Mens’s FINAL
FRANCE (2) defeated NETHERLANDS (1) 2-1

Ronald Vink (NED) d. Nicolas Peifer (FRA) 64 57 75
Stephane Houdet (FRA) d. Maikel Scheffers (NED)  61 60
Stephane Houdet/Michael Jeremiasz (FRA) d. Maikel Scheffers/Tom Egberink (NED) 61 61

Second seeds France have beaten top seeds and defending champions the Netherlands 2-1 after a deciding doubles rubber in the men’s World Group final at the BNP Paribas World Team Cup at the Olympic Park Tennis Centre in Seoul, Korea Republic.

South Africa, silver medallists in World Group 2 on Saturday, will play in the men’s World Group for the first time in 2013 after beating Belgium 2-1 in their promotion/relegation play off against the team that finished eleventh in the men’s World Group this year.


The first of two rain delays during the men’s World Group final came with Dutch world No. 3 Ronald Vink leading world No. 4 Nicolas Peifer 3-2 in the first set of the first singles rubber.

On the resumption, Vink gained the vital break to clinch the first set, and after Peifer had fought back in the second set an epic contest ended with Vink taking the last two games to secure the contest 64 57 75.

World No. 2 Stephane Houdet of France powered his way to a 4-0 lead over World No. 1 Maikel Scheffers in the first set of the second singles rubber, which he eventually took for the loss of just a single game.

Houdet then led the second set 2-0 before another lengthy rain break. When the match resumed the Frenchman continued to dominate and wrapped up a 61 60 victory to send the final into the deciding doubles rubber.

Beijing Paralympic champions Stephane Houdet and Michael Jeremiasz dominated the doubles rubber, dropping just the fifth game of the opening set and the third game of the second set to claim a 61 61 victory and regain the title that France last won in 2009.

Frederic Cattaneo, Houdet, Jeremiasz and Peifer, the same quartet that won the 2009 title in Great Britain, were presented with the Randy Snow Trophy, after the men’s World Group trophy was officially renamed in a ceremony on Saturday evening in Seoul in memory of Randy Snow.

Snow, a three-time Paralympic medallist and the winner of the inaugural Paralympic Games men’s singles and men’s doubles gold medals in Barcelona in 1992, passed away in November 2009 whilst volunteering at a wheelchair tennis camp in El Salvador. He was also a seven-time World Team Cup champion with USA. Photo: Do-Won Kim

wheelchair tennis event wheelchair tennis event wheelchair tennis event wheelchair tennis event wheelchair tennis event wheelchair tennis event wheelchair tennis event wheelchair tennis event wheelchair tennis event

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Leave a Reply