Table Tennis legend Vladimir Samsonov re-elected

Tokyo, May 10, 2014: Table Tennis legend Vladimir SAMSONOV (BLR) has been re-elected as the Chairman of the International Table Tennis Federation (ITTF) Athletes’ Commission in an election held at the ZEN-NOH 2014 World Team Table Tennis Championships in Tokyo, Japan.

SAMSONOV, who was in the world’s top 10 for a remarkable 15 years, stated: ”representing the athletes is a great honor, but I am also aware of my responsibilities. I am very exited, and will work very hard in order to justify the trust the athletes have placed in me.”

“It will be a pleasure to work with the old and new Athletes Commission members, and I am excited to get back to work for the good of the athletes.”

The following four athletes were elected by their peers to join SAMSONOV on the Athletes’ Commission until 2018:
• Jean-Michel SAIVE (BEL)
• Krisztina TÓTH (HUN)
• David POWELL (AUS)

In addition to the five players elected by the athletes, two athletes were nominated by the Athletes’ Commission, and three athletes nominated by the ITTF Executive Committee to make up the ITTF Athletes’ Commission.

After consultation, the Executive Committee and Athletes’ Commission appointed the following athletes onto the commission:

Appointed by the Executive Committee
Angela MORI (PER)
Elsayed LASHIN (EGY)
YU Kwok See April (HKG)

Appointed by the Athletes’ Commission
WANG Liqin (CHN)

A new representative will be elected at the upcoming ITTF PTT World Championships in September 2014, to represent the interests of Para players on the Athletes’ Commission. —- Photo credit: Christophe Neuville/ITTF

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.