2017 Men’s Youth World Championship

Doha – Qatar, Oct 27, 2013: The XXXIV Ordinary Congress of the International Handball Federation (IHF) came to an end in Doha on 27 October. Delegates from 163 countries worldwide made a lot of decisions for the future of handball. On the second day of the Congress the delegates dealt with the awarding of the upcoming Youth and Junior World Championships in 2016 and 2017. Host nations for the 2016 events will be Russia for the Women’s Junior World Championship and Slovakia for the Women’s Youth World Championship. Georgia was awarded the 2017 Men’s Youth World Championship. After approval from the Congress, the 2017 Men’s Junior World Championship and the 2015 Men’s Youth and Junior WChs will be awarded by the council.

At the first day of the XXXIV Ordinary (26 October) Congress IHF President Dr Hassan Moustafa was re-elected with more than 90 per cent of all votes. Also IHF 1st Vice President Miguel Roca Mas from Spain and Treasurer Sandi Sola from Croatia will continue in their positions for the next four years period. The IHF Council welcomes two new members: Executive Committee Member Frantisek Taborsky (Czech Republic) and Rafael Sepulveda (Puerto Rico), who was elected for the position as Chairman of the Commission of Development (CD).

A further point on the agenda of the Congress in the capital of Qatar was the admission of 18 new members into the handball family, which is counting now 199 members. On the final day of the IHF Congress the Danish Handball Association was honoured with the Hans Baumann Trophy. Finally the old and new IHF-President closed the XXXIV Ordinary IHF Congress by thanking Qatar for hosting this event.

As per decision of the delegates the next Ordinary Congress will take place in Budapest, Hungary in 2015. —- IHF

Print Friendly, PDF & Email





Leave a Reply