NBP wins 33rd National Junior Hockey

Karachi, May 24, 2014: National Bank of Pakistan continued the winning streak shattering dreams of defending champion WAPDA beating them 2-1 in the final of the 33rd National Junior Hockey Championship that concluded at the Hockey Club of Pakistan Stadium here on Saturday.

The Bankers initiated their attack in the first minute of the match when even their opponents were settling down. They earned a penalty corner through a combined move by Shah Irshad, Ateeque and Waseem Akram. Mubashar Hussain’s successful conversion not only gave them a 1-0 lead but also surprised their opponents who were not expecting a goal in the first minute. In the fourth minute, WAPDA players made a counter attack and also earned a penalty corner but failed to capitalize it.

The final, however, lacked the thrill and excitement of the semifinals and the third position match. Though both finalists’ teams made some interesting moves yet their finishing was worst. They adopted defensive strategy and occasionally found space to attack but their moves can’t set the momentum of a big final which deprived the spectators to enjoy a tough competition.

Nevertheless, last few minutes of the final were worthy to watch. A determind move initiated by NBP’s trio comprised Junaid, Ateeque and Waseem earned two back to back penalty corners in the 57 and 58th minutes respectively. Mubashar slammed second goal for his team.

In the last minute the drama was repeated as this time WAPDA got three penalty corners and they reduced the margin of defeat through Mohammed Ahad who successfully converted the third penalty corner. Kamran MP and Shahid Pervaiz supervise the match.

Earlier, Punjab (C) stunned PIA 3-2 in a drama packed last four minutes of the match to get third position in the Championship and won a cash prize of Rs. 100, 000. PIA dominated the proceedings, leading 2-1 till the 55th minute of the match and looking for a victory. Qasim Ahmed slammed a goal on penalty corner in the 56th mnute to bring Punjab (C) at par with PIA at 2-2.

The match entered into a very exciting stage and both teams made aggressive moves to earn a victory but it was Mohsin Sabir, captain of Punjab (C) who rose to the occasion and shattered PIA’s dreams with a beautiful field goal just few second before the final whistle.

From the winners, Mohammed Asif netted the first goal in the 37th minute. PIA’s Abu Bakr slammed the first goal in the 17th minute on a penalty coner andAmir Ali scored the second goal for his team in the 37th minute. Kamran Sharif and Muneer were the umpires.

Later, Chief Guest Sindh Minister for Health Dr. Saghir Ahmed gave away the trophy to the captain of NBP Ateeque and a cash prize of Rs. 200, 000. The runners up also got the trophy and cash prize of Rs. 150, 000. Karachi Hockey Association President, Wasay Jalil also delivered cash prizes of Rs. 100, 000 to the third position holders Punjab (C) team. Mubashar Hussain, with seven goals, was declared the best player of the Championship.


NBP beat WAPDA: 2-1.
1-0 (First Half), 1-0 (Second Half), 1-0 (Third Half), 2-1 (Full Time).

NBP: Mubashar Hussain 1st min & 60th min (PC).
WAPDA: Mohammed Ahed 60th min (PC).

Third Position

Punjab (C) beat PIA: 3-2.
0-1 (First Half), 1-1 (Second Half), 1-2 (Third Half), 3-2 (Full Time).

PIA: Abu Bakr 17th min (PC), Amir Ali 39th min (FG).
Punjab (C): Mohammed Asif 37th min (FG), Qasim Ahmed 56th min (PC), Mohsin Sabir 60th min (FG). —- By: Rana Mujahid/PHF

Print Friendly, PDF & Email






Leave a Reply