FIS President Kasper elected as AIOWF President

Basle, Apr 10, 2014: FIS President Gian Franco Kasper was elected President of the Association of International Olympic Winter Sports Federation (AIOWF) on Tuesday, 8th April 2014 during the SportAccord convention in Belek (TUR). At the same meeting FIS Secretary General Sarah Lewis was appointed as the organisation’s Secretary General.

Kasper succeeds International Ice Hockey Federation President and fellow Swiss Rene Fasel who served as President since 2002. He formerly led the association from 2000-2002 and will now serve a four-year term.

On the first day in office, the seven Presidents and Secretary Generals of AIOWF met with the IOC Executive Board. Immediately afterwards they then held a joint meeting with the Council of the Association of Summer Olympic International Federations (ASOIF) to discuss matters of common interest.

“It is an honour to be elected as the President of AIOWF by my Winter Sports Federation peers. I look forward to working to ensure the winter sports family continues to grow and prosper”, Kasper commented after the elections

Sarah Lewis added: “We are very much used to working with different disciplines within FIS and look forward to using this experience to strengthen the winter federations and contribute as a group to the Olympic Movement.”

Founded in 1976, the primary purpose of the AIOWF is to represent matters relating to the common interest to the International Winter Sports Federations in its dealings with the IOC, SportAccord and Organising Committees of the Olympic Winter Games. The AIOWF is composed of seven members, representing each of the Member Federations on the programme of the Olympic Winter Games. —- FIS

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.