Elected new Bureau for the period 2013-2017

Barcelona (ESP), July 26, 2013: The FINA General Congress, with the participation of delegates from 170 National Federations (a new record) elected today in Barcelona (ESP) the new Bureau for the period 2013-2017. Under the presidency of Dr. Julio C. Maglione, who was re-elected for a new four-year term, the composition of the new Bureau is:

President: Dr. Julio C. Maglione (URU)

Honorary Secretary: Paolo Barelli (ITA)

Honorary Treasurer: Pipat Paniangvait (THA)

Vice Presidents:

Husain Al Mussalam (KUW)

Tamas Gyarfas (HUN)

Dennis Miller (FIJ)

Dale Neuburger (USA)

Sam Ramsamy (RSA)


Fernando Carpena (ESP) – NEW

Errol Clarke (BAR) – NEW

Dimitris Diathessopoulos (GRE)

Mohamed Diop (SEN) – NEW

Matthew Dunn (AUS)

Ben Ekumbo (KEN)

Erik van Heijningen (NED) – NEW

Andrey Kryukov (KAZ) – NEW

Lino Candido Lourenço (ANG) – NEW

Eugenio Martinez (CUB)

Dr. Margo Mountjoy (CAN)

Coaracy Nunes Filho (BRA)

Vladimir Salnikov (RUS) – NEW

Kazuo Sano (JPN)

Qiuping Zhang (CHN)

Honorary Life President: Mustapha Larfaoui (ALG)

Honorary Members:

Gennady Aleshin (RUS) – NEW

Rafael Blanco (ESP)

Bartolo Consolo (ITA) – NEW

Eldon C. Godfrey (CAN)

Nory Kruchten (LUX) – NEW

Francis Lyuce (FRA)

Guillermo Martinez (CUB)

Chief Olatokunbo Thomas (NGR) – NEW

Gunnar Werner (SWE)

Moreover, the Congress made some slight changes in the Constitution Rules, namely approving the creation of the FINA Ethics Panel.

Concerning General Rules, the delegates in Barcelona validated the new relay events in 50m-pool (mixed 4x100m free and medley) and 25m-pool (4x50m free and medley for men and women, and mixed 4x50m free and medley).

Finally, a whole set of Facilities Rules were approved with the aim of updating all the diagrams, characteristics and dimensions of facilities used at FINA events. In backstroke races, the possibility of using an adjustable starting platform was validated.

“Despite our diversity, we are a big united Aquatic Family. We have achieved a lot together, but the present is already past. We must move forward, in a path of progress, development and aiming always to a better future”, declared FINA President Dr. Julio C. Maglione.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email





Leave a Reply