FIG Athletes’ Commission GYMNASTS HAVE VOTED!

Antwerp,Oct 4,2013: Jani Tanskanen (FIN), incumbent President and Elizabeth Tweddle (GBR) will represent respectively the male and female gymnasts within the Athletes’ Commission of the International Gymnastics Federation (FIG) for the period 2013 – 2016. It was thus decided yesterday and today by the gymnasts who are currently participating in the 44th Artistic Gymnastics World Championships, taking place in Antwerp (BEL).

The new Commission

Recently elected representatives from Rhythmic, Aerobic and Acrobatic gymnastics respectively, Lioubou Charkashina (BLR), Aldrin Rodriguez (MEX) and Ayla Ahmadova (AZE) form the Athletes’ Commission which will be completed by the representative from Trampoline who will be elected in November this year, during the 29th World Championships of the discipline, in Sofia (BUL). Today only one candidate has been registered, Nuno Merino from Portugal. The new Commission will then meet all together to elect its President.

The members of the Athletes’ Commission are also members of their respective Technical Committees, with voting rights. The same applies for the President who serves on the Executive Committee and the FIG Board. This body was created in 1999, during the Extraordinary Congress of the Federation in Tianjin (CHN). —- FIG

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Leave a Reply