England beat series leaders SA to win Tokyo title

Tokyo, April 5, 2015: England beat current series leader South Africa 21-14 in the Cup final at the Tokyo Sevens, round seven of the HSBC Sevens World Series.

England won their first Cup title since the 2013 Wellington Sevens, beating South Africa 21-14 in the final of the Tokyo Sevens, round seven of the HSBC Sevens World Series.

Stout defence and brilliant individual tries from Charlie Hayter, Tom Mitchell and Phil Burgess provided the foundations of an enthralling win to put England back into the top four in the standings for the first time since before the Dubai Sevens and have a nine point lead over Australia who lost in the Bowl final to USA.

“The way the guys fought for that win was brilliant,” enthused England coach Simon Amor after his side’s win. “It’s fantastic for us and a great climax for us to go back to the UK now. I am so proud for the players, they’ve worked so hard for this.”

Runners-up South Africa extend their lead at the top having earlier beaten Fiji in the Cup semi final with the Blitzboks on 129 points, four ahead of Fiji and nine ahead of New Zealand who won the Plate. The top four at the end of the nine rounds will qualify for the Olympics.

Hosts Japan, appearing in their first Cup competition since 2000 gain 10 points and move within eight points of Portugal at the bottom of the table with the European side winning the Shield. The 15th placed side after London will be relegated and replaced by Russia, who qualified last week in Hong Kong.

Earlier on day two, Canada recorded history beating New Zealand for the first time while England defeated Canada 14-5 in their semi final.

While Hayter established an early 7-0 lead for Simon Amor’s side, before a converted try to Burgess ended Canada’s promising tournament run, after they had earlier recorded an historic first-ever win over New Zealand in the quarter finals.

Pool draw made for round eight in Glasgow
England head Pool A and face France, Australia and Russia, South Africa will meet New Zealand, Samoa and Kenya in Pool B, Fiji are joined by Scotland, Wales and Portugal in Pool C and Canada await Japan, USA and Argentina in Pool D. —- worldrugby

Print Friendly, PDF & Email





Leave a Reply