Rugby World Cup 2014 Qualifiers Announced

Dublin – Ireland, July 24, 2013: The International Rugby Board has announced the dates for the qualifiers that will decide the final two places at Women’s Rugby World Cup 2014 in France.

The final African qualifier will take place on September 7 when South Africa host Uganda in East London. South Africa are bidding to qualify for a third successive World Cup, while Uganda beat Kenya over two legs in their annual Elgon Cup series to reach this play-off.

Four teams from Asia are also hoping for a place in France and they will battle it out when the #WRWC2014 regional qualifier begins in Kazakhstan on September 4.

Japan will play Hong Kong and hosts Kazakhstan face Singapore at the Almaty Stadium, with the winners going on to play each other in the final at the same venue on September 7.

With just over one year to go until the tournament kicks off in Paris, France, excitement is already building for the showpiece event in the Women’s Fifteens Game.

“This is the first time we are having a qualification process for Africa, which recognises the level of development reached in the region,” said IRB Women’s Development Manager Susan Carty.

“To host games of such significance in Kazakhstan is a massive boost for Rugby in Asia and is just reward for all the hard work that is being done on the ground.”

“It will also be good for the other teams that have already secured their place in France 2014 to know who they might come up against in just over a year’s time.”

The pool matches for WRWC 2014 will take place at the Federation Française de Rugby (FFR) in Marcoussis and Marcoussis Rugby Club.

The knockout stages of the tournament will also see matches played at the FFR in Marcoussis, with the semi-finals, Bronze Final and Final taking place at Stade Jean Bouin in the French capital.

The matches will take place on August 1, 5, 9, 13, with the final played on August 17, 2014.

Ten teams have qualified for Women’s Rugby World Cup 2014 in defending champions New Zealand, 2010 runners-up England, Australia, hosts France, USA, Canada, Ireland, Wales, Spain and Samoa. The pool draw for Women’s Rugby World Cup 2014 will take place in due course.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Leave a Reply