CK Wu re-elected as President of International Boxing Association

Jeju – Korea, Nov 14, 2014: The International Boxing Association (AIBA) has re-elected Dr. Ching-Kuo Wu, as it’s President for a third consecutive term.

Dr. Wu, an IOC Executive Board member, was elected unopposed by delegates from 2014 AIBA Congress just ended in Jeju, Korea. Delegates gave him a standing ovation.

Speaking after his re-election, Dr. Wu said: “This is a very touching moment. You have all expressed your support for my candidature. With the confidence and trust you have given me, I can carry out the promises I made to you. And you know that I always keep my promises.

Dr Wu continued: “Eight years ago, I promised I would carry out reforms and I have done so. For the next four years there is still a lot of work ahead of us. We have laid the foundations, but speaking as an architect, we need to add more layers to create a solid and enduring structure.

“I am very much looking forward to seeing the final outcome of these initiatives over the coming four years. I declare that ‘impossible is not our word’ until we have taken boxing back to its Golden Age.”

Dr. Wu also outlined his key priorities for the coming four years, which included:
• Ensuring that more women were appointed to leadership positions in boxing;
• Establishing a ‘boxer centered’ organization by opening the doors for boxers to take up leadership positions;
• Continuing to expand the World Series of Boxing (WSB) competition and the AIBA Pro-Boxing competition (APB), while at the same time increasing their commercial value;
• Investing the revenues from Elite competitions into developing future generations of boxers by targeting funds towards the grassroots of the sport around the world.

At the close of Congress, delegates unanimously adopted ‘The Jeju Declaration’, endorsing the initiatives taken by AIBA to fulfil its mission to govern the sport of boxing in all of its forms.

The Jeju Declaration included resolutions to support:
• The building of a tangible and protected career plan for AIBA boxers;
• The continued development of Women’s boxing at all levels;
• The harmonisation of technical rules for all AIBA competitions, as well as the removal of headguards in Elite Men’s competitions;
• Protection of the image and reputation of the International Boxing Association from any ill-intentioned external influence;
• Prevention and sanctions for any instances of corruption, matching fixing, gambling and violence inside or outside the ring;
• Maintaining the principle of not using the word “Amateur” in AIBA sport programs, as well as avoiding being perceived as a “Combat and

Martial Arts” sport – and instead protecting boxing’s ancient heritage as the “Noble Art”.

International Boxing Association elects new Vice Presidents and Executive Committee members
In addition to re-electing the AIBA President Ching-Kuo Wu, delegates from national federations at the International Boxing Association’s 2014 Congress also voted to appoint new Vice Presidents and Executive Committee members for the coming four years.
The Vice President appointments are:
• VP for Africa: Kelani Bayor (Togo)
• VP for America: Osvaldo Bisbal (Argentina)
• VP for Asia: Serik Konakbayev (Kazakhstan)
• VP for Europe: Franco Falcinelli (Italy)
• VP for Oceania: Ted Tanner (Australia)
In addition, three new Vice Presidents were appointed:
• Di Wu (China) VP representing the Boxing Marketing Arm (BMA).
• Timur Kulibayev (Kazakhstan) VP representing the AIBA Pro Boxing (APB)
• Gofur Rakhimov (Russia) VP representing the World Series of Boxing (WSB)
Executive Committee members are:
• From Africa: Mohamed Moustahsane (Morocco) and Nabil Sadi (Algeria)
• From America: Alberto Puig De La Barca (Cuba) and Ray Silvas (USA)
• From Asia: Yan Yue (China) and Yoon Seok Chang (Korea)
• From Europe: Terry Smith (Wales) and Suleyman Mikayilov (Azerbaijan)
• From Oceania: Mapu Jamias (American Samoa)
Additional EC members elected are:
• Fran Lopez Almeida (Venezuela)
• Jurgen Kyas (Germany)
• Eyup Gozgec (Turkey)
• Steve Ninvalle (Guyana)
• Pat Fiacco (Canada). —- AIBA

Print Friendly, PDF & Email





Leave a Reply