GRUNDFOS World Handball Players

Basel – Switzerland, Jan 08, 2013: The International Handball Federation is pleased to announce the GRUNDFOS World Handball Players of the Year 2012: fans, media representatives and an IHF expert group have decided – and two debutants are the winners: Alexandra do Nascimento is the first ever Brazilian GRUNDFOS World Handball Player of the Year and Daniel Narcisse is the sixth Frenchman to win this award since the first vote in 1988 – and the fourth player of German club THW Kiel to become GRUNDFOS World Handball Player of the Year since 2007 after Nikola Karabatic (2007), Thierry Omeyer (2008) and Filip Jicha (2010).

Right wing do Nascimento, playing for Austrian club Hypo Niederösterreich, and left back Narcisse overcame the 2011 GRUNDFOS World Handball Players of the Year, Heidi Löke (Norway, Audi ETO Györ/Hungary) and Mikkel Hansen (Denmark, Paris Handball/France) in this year’s vote.

Alexandra do Nascimento obtained 28% of votes to be ahead of Löke and Montenegrin Bojana Popovic (Buducnost Podgorica, 24 % each). Andrea Penezic (Croatia, Krim Mercator Ljubljana/Slovenia) and Katarina Bulatovic (Montenegro, Oltchim Valcea/Romania) each earned 12% of votes to both rank fourth.

Daniel Narcisse obtained 25% of votes to outclass Hansen (21%). Filip Jicha (Czech Republic, THW Kiel/Germany), Kim Andersson (Sweden, KIF Kolding/Denmark) and Julen Aguinagalde (Spain, Atletico Madrid/Spain) share the third rank with 18% each.

The award ceremony, organized by the IHF and their voting partner Grundfos, will take place prior to the gold medal match of the 2013 Men’s World Championship in Spain on 27 January in Barcelona. Narcisse and do Nascimento will receive both a precious trophy and a cheque for 10,000 euros presented by IHF partner Grundfos.

Results of the GRUNDFOS World Handball Player of the Year 2012:


1. Alexandra do Nascimento (Brazil, Hypo Niederösterreich/Austria) 28%

2. Heidi Löke (Norway, Audi ETO Györ/Hungary) 24%

2. Bojana Popovic (Montenegro, Buducnost Podgorica) 24 %

4. Andrea Penezic (Croatia, Krim Mercator Ljubljana/Slovenia) 12%

4. Katarina Bulatovic (Montenegro, Oltchim Valcea/Romania) 12%


1. Daniel Narcisse (France, THW Kiel/Germany) 25%

2. Mikkel Hansen (Denmark, Paris Handball/France) 21%

3. Filip Jicha (Czech Republic, THW Kiel/Germany) 18%

3. Kim Andersson (Sweden, KIF Kolding/Denmark) 18%

3. Julen Aguinagalde (Spain, Atletico Madrid/Spain) 18%

Portraits of the 2012 GRUNDFOS World Handball Players of the Year:

Alexandra do Nascimento (Brazil)

Born on 16 September 1981 in Sao Paolo

Position: right wing

Club: Hypo Niederösterreich (since 2003)

Top scorer of 2011 World Championship

Sextuple Pan-American champion

Olympics participations in 2004, 2008, 2012

All-star team member at the Olympic Games in London

5th place at 2011 World Championship

EHF Champions League finalist in 2008 and 10 Austrian championship and Cup winner titles with Hypo Niederösterreich

Alexandra do Nascimento was the outstanding player and top scorer of the Brazilian team at the Olympic Games in London where she had been elected to the all-star team. But even 37 goals (fourth ranked in the overall top scorer list) could not avoid Brazil’s dramatic elimination in the quarter-finals by later gold medallist Norway although Brazil had been in the lead 15:9. do Nascimento is a brilliant counter-attack specialist and as cold as ice from the penalty spot.

Daniel Narcisse (France)

Born on 16 December 1979 in Saint Denis, La Reunion

Position: left back

Club: THW Kiel (since 2009)

Olympic champion in 2008, 2012

World champion in 2001, 2009

European champion in 2006, 2010

EHF Champions League winner in 2010 and 2012, German champion in 2010, 2012, German Cup winner in 2010, 2011, 2012

IHF Super Globe winner in 2011, IHF Super Globe finalist in 2012

Daniel Narcisse is nicknamed ‘Air France’, as hardly any other backcourt players is able to jump like he does. In more than 200 matches for the French team the left back became one of the keys to success in the past decade. And the year 2012 was a tremendously successful one for Narcisse in every respect: His goals paved the way to Olympic gold in London with France. Then he won all possible titles with THW Kiel – EHF Champions League, German championship with 34 victories in 34 matches and the German Cup.

All GRUNDFOS World Handball Players of the Year:


1988 Svetlana Kitic YUG

1989 Hyun-Mee Kim KOR

1990 Jasna Merdan-Kolar AUT

1994 Mia Hermansson-Hogdahl SWE

1995 Erszsebet Kocsis HUN

1996 O-Kyeong Lim KOR

1997 Anja Andersen DEN

1998 Trine Haltvik NOR

1999 Ausra Fridrikas AUT

2000 Bojana Radulovics HUN

2001 Cecilie Leganger NOR

2002 Chao Zhai CHN

2003 Bojana Radulovics HUN

2004 Anita Kulcsar HUN

2005 Anita Görbicz HUN

2006 Nadine Krause GER

2007 Gro Hammerseng NOR

2008 Linn-Kristin Riegelhuth NOR

2009 Alison Pineau FRA

2010 Cristina Neagu ROM

2011 Heidi Løke NOR


1988 Veselin Vujovic YUG

1989 Jae-Won Kang KOR

1990 Magnus Wislander SWE

1994 Talant Dushebajew RUS

1995 Jackson Richardson FRA

1996 Talant Dushebajew ESP

1997 Stephane Stoecklin FRA

1998 Daniel Stephan GER

1999 Rafael Guijosa ESP

2000 Dragan Skrbic YUG

2001 Kyung-Shin Yoon KOR

2002 Bertrand Gille FRA

2003 Ivano Balic CRO

2004 Henning Fritz GER

2005 Arpad Sterbik SCG

2006 Ivano Balic CRO

2007 Nikola Karabatic FRA

2008 Thierry Omeyer FRA

2009 Slawomir Szmal POL

2010 Filip Jicha CZE

2011 Mikkel Hansen DEN. —- IHF/Picture ©

Print Friendly, PDF & Email





Leave a Reply