AIPS Asia holds historic meeting in Lahore

Lahore, Pakistan, Dec 3, 2013: Another chapter in the history of Pakistani sports journalism was written in the historical city of Lahore when Pakistan Sports Writers Federation (PSWF) hosted its first ever AIPS Asia Executive Committee (EC) meeting.

The meeting was chaired by AIPS Asia President Faisal Al Qanai and was attended by 21 delegates from 15 countries of Asia. The countries included Japan, China, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Kuwait, Qatar, UAE, Oman, Lebanon, Iraq, Iran, Palestine, Hong Kong, Macau.

The President of the AIPS Gianni Merlo participated in the meeting through video link and showered praises on PSWF and specially highlighted the outstanding and untiring efforts of PSWF Secretary General Amjad Aziz Malik for successfully organizing such a prestigious event.

The first vice president of AIPS Esat Yilmaer from Turkey, specially graced the occasion on the invitation of Pakistan Sports Writers Federation.

The ASPU EC Meeting took various important decisions for promotion of the sports journalism in Asia and also to bring more Asian countries into the fold of AIPS Asia.

It was also decided to announce an annual award for the best sports photographer starting from 2014. To adjudge the best photographer, each AIPS Asia member country would be requested to submit five pictures.

The meeting also decided to celebrate AIPS Asia Day every year on 12th of December.

The EC meeting formed committees for marketing and membership.

Mr. Zhang of China, Mr. Abdullah Al Malki of Qatar, Mr. Ahmedi of Iran, Mr.Amjad Aziz Malik of Pakistan and other members also gave valuable suggestions to promote the cause of sports journalism in the region and to strengthen AIPS Asia.

Al Qanai and all the delegates paid glowing and rich tributes to PSWF in general and Malik in particular, who is also an EC Member of the AIPS, for holding such a great event in a befitting and professional manner.

The EC Meeting was attended by Faisal Al Qanai, President, Mr. Zhang Hai Fang, the first VP of ASPU, Mr. Abdullah Al Malki (VP), Mr. Amjad Aziz Malik (VP), Mr. Abdul Hamid Ahmedi (secretary general), Mr.Youssuef (treasurer) and EC members Mr. Ibrahim Hussein (UAE) Mr. Ahmed Salim Batamira (Oman) Mr. Hussain Alian (Palestine) Mr. Raymond Chiu (Hong Kong), Mr. Nim Fong (Macau), Mr. Enami (Japan), Mr. Khyber Khan Dagar (Afganistan) and Mr. Khalid Jasim (Iraq). —- OCA

Print Friendly, PDF & Email





Leave a Reply