Officials announced for UEFA EURO 2012, 12 referees nominated for the final tournament

UEFA Media Release Dec 20, 2011: The UEFA Referees Committee met today in Nyon and appointed the 12 referees to handle the 31 matches of next year’s UEFA EURO 2012 final tournament in Poland and Ukraine.

For the first time in the history of the UEFA European Championship, the referees will have added support thanks to a decision by football’s lawmakers, the International Football Association Board (IFAB), to allow the continuation of the experiment in the use of additional assistant referees. The full referee teams will be announced in January 2012.

The list of referees can be found below:

Çakιr Cüneyt, Turkey, Eriksson Jonas, Sweden, Kassai Viktor, Hungary, Kuipers Bjorn, Netherlands, Lannoy Stéphane, France, Oliveira Alves Garcia Pedro Proença, Portugal, Rizzoli Nicola, Italy, Skomina Damir, Slovenia, Stark Wolfgang, Germany, Thomson Craig, Scotland, Velasco Carballo, Carlos Spain, Webb Howard, England

In addition, four fourth officials who will only act in this specific function have been appointed.

Borski Marcin, Poland, Hagen Tom Harald, Norway, Královec Pavel Czech, Republic, Shvetsov Viktor, Ukraine.

The referees’ preparations for UEFA EURO 2012 will include various courses and training activities, including:

• 30 January to 2 February – UEFA’s winter annual course during which the referees will receive technical instructions as well as physical training plans to follow until the final tournament.

• 30 April to 3 May – Referees’ preparatory workshop in Warsaw: The referee “quintets” will train together in their team base camp. They will also undergo fitness tests and review the application of the technical instructions they have received.

• 4 June – The referee teams will arrive in Warsaw for the final tournament.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email





Leave a Reply