Task Force discusses education and implementation

Zurich, Sept 12, 2013: The FIFA Task Force against Racism and Discrimination, chaired by FIFA Vice-President and CONCACAF President Jeffrey Webb, held its second meeting at the Home of FIFA in Zurich today, 12 September 2013.

During the session, discussions focused on actions to be implemented following the landmark resolution on the fight against racism and discrimination approved on 31 May by the 63rd FIFA Congress after an address from Webb.

“It’s not only up to FIFA to implement the key decisions adopted by the Congress with regard to the fight against discrimination and racism. The implementation process needs to be fully supported by all member associations and society as a whole,” said Webb.

The Task Force analyzed prevention and education measures to further enhance the fight against discrimination, as well as the enforcement of sanctions to punish offenses.

The group chaired by Webb identified the following matters as key priorities:

– Allocation of specific resources for the fight against racism and discrimination

– Development of an anti-discrimination handbook to be given to all member associations for best practice and training

– Recruitment and training of anti-discrimination officers

– Identification of high-risk games

– Identification and engagement of anti-discrimination ambassadors

– Proposal of special award for achievements in the area of anti-discrimination

The creation of the Task Force was announced by FIFA President Joseph S. Blatter in early March 2013, following a meeting of the FIFA Strategic Committee, as part of a series of measures to tackle the pressing issue of racism and discrimination in football.

Participants in today’s meeting included:


• Jeffrey WEBB, Cayman Islands (FIFA Vice-President, President of CONCACAF)

Deputy Chairman

• Jacques ANOUMA (FIFA Executive Committee member)

FIFA President

• Joseph S. BLATTER


• David BERNSTEIN (former Chairman of The Football Association Ltd.)

• Yury BOYCHENKO (Chief of Anti-Discrimination Section at United Nations Human Rights Office of the High Commissioner)

• Osasu OBAYIUWANA (Associate Editor, New African Magazine)

• Piara POWAR (CEO of FARE)

• Claudio SULSER (Chairman, FIFA Disciplinary Committee)

• Theo VAN SEGGELEN (FIFPro Secretary General)

• Howard WEBB (FIFA referee)


• Anthony BAFFOE (former international player)

• Jorge BALLESTERO (magistrate)


• Tokyo SEXWALE (politician and anti-apartheid activist)

• Hilary O. SHELTON (Director, NAACP Washington Bureau)

FIFA Secretary General

• Jérôme VALCKE

FIFA administration

• Federico ADDIECHI (Head of CSR). —- FIFA

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Leave a Reply