Panama Named Host for 2017 CONCACAF Under-17 Championship

Miami, July 25, 2016: The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football today announced that Panama will host the 2017 CONCACAF Under-17 Championship, scheduled for April 21 to May 7, 2017.

The two venues for the competition will be Estadio Rommel Fernandez and Estadio Maracana in Panama City, Panama. Panama also hosted the Under-17 Championship in 2013.

“We are pleased to name Panama as host of the CONCACAF Under-17 Championship, which is one of our most important youth development tournaments,” said General Secretary Philippe Moggio. “Panama was an exceptional host of the 2013 Championship. We are confident that next year’s Under-17 Championship will be another unqualified success for fans and players alike, that will help the growth of soccer in Panama.”

Panama will welcome the region’s top Under-17 national teams to Central America for the tournament that will crown the regional champion at this age level. The championship will also qualify four teams to the FIFA U-17 World Cup India 2017.

“For the Panamanian Football Federation in particular and for Panama in general, hosting such an important tournament as the Under-17 Championship is a source of great pride,” said Panamanian Football Federation President Pedro Chaluja. “This designation demonstrates the credibility of FEPAFUT, its directors and collaborators, throughout the area and worldwide. We welcome all the participating teams and urge the players to practice Fair Play on and off the field, as they give their all for a place in the World Cup in India.”

The 2017 CONCACAF Under-17 Championship will include a field of twelve teams; Panama as host, three additional teams from the Central American Football Union, five from the Caribbean Football Union and three from North America. The qualifying tournaments for the Caribbean and Central America will begin in July and November of 2016, respectively.

The official draw will be conducted in Panama City in December.

Mexico is the defending Champion of the CONCACAF Under-17 Championship, after overcoming host Honduras 3-0 in the final of the 2015 CONCACAF Under-17 Championship.

CONCACAF Under-17 Championship Panama 2017
Date: April 21 to May 7, 2017
Site: Panama
Teams: 12
Caribbean Football Union (5)
Central American Football Union (4)
North America (3)

Number of teams to qualify for the World Cup: 4

Format: The twelve (12) teams shall be divided into a group stage consisting of two (2) groups (A, B) of six (6) teams each. The two group winners qualify automatically for the FIFA U-17 World Cup India 2017 and the championships final. The second- and third-place teams from each group are re-seeded by group stage results, with the top team of the four facing the fourth-best team, and the second-best finisher facing the third-best. The winner of each of those two matches also advances to the FIFA U-17 World Cup India 2017.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email






Leave a Reply