KR​L becomes the champion of 9th PPFL

Karachi – Pakistan, Jan 15, 2013: Khan Research Laboratory (KRL) has won the 9th Pakistan Premier Football League-2012 ( 9th PPFL-2012) title in Karachi at KPT Football Stadium today and finished their campaign with 70 points in 30 matches while Karachi Electric Supply Company (KESC) and Muslim FC Chaman finished second and third spot with 62 each. The last match between PIA and KRL was ended in goalless draw.

According to the Pakistan Football Federation (PFF), Army secured fourth place with 58 points while Pakistan Air Force (PAF) finished in fifth (53 points). National Bank of Pakistan (NBP) (44) finished sixth, followed by Navy (37), Pakistan International Air (PIA) 36 points, Afghan FC Chaman (35 pts) in seventh, eighth and ninth places respectively. Baloch FC Noushki finishes tenth. WAPDA, HBL, KPT ended on 11th, 12th and 13thplace respectively while ZTBL was 14th. PMC FC Faisalabad and Wohaib FC Lahore are relegated from PPFL.

Lt. Col ® Ahmed Yar Khan Lodhi TI (M), General Secretary PFF, was chief guest of the match and presented cash awards and trophies to the teams and players. KRL lifted the winning trophy and gold medals in addition to Rs 700,000 while KESC had to be content with silver medals and Rs 500,000. Muslim FC Chaman got bronze medals and Rs 400,000.

General Secretary PFF, Mr. Lodhi said that PFF has come long way to lay the solid stone of the sports of football in Pakistan. Today it can look back and pride itself of its achievements. All this benefit has been achieved under the direct patronage of President PFF, Makhdoom Syed Faisal Saleh Hayat who’s untiring and selfless efforts have placed Pakistani players on the international league. Mr. Lodhi further said that I will take this opportunity to express my gratitude and that of PFF to thank media with whose contribution our efforts have reached to the grassroots level.

WAPDA won the four PPFL in 2004, 2007, 2008 and 2010, Army could achieve two Leagues in 2005 and 2006 and KRL secured two leagues in 2009 and 2011 and is the current champion of 2013 League.

Kaleem Ullah of KRL was adjudged with maximum goal scorer with 35 goals and pocketed 100, 000/-PIA, best goal keeper of the league Mr. Jaffer Khan of Pak Army pocketed 100, 000/-,best player of the league pocketed Saeed Ahmed of Muslim FC chaman pocketed 150, 000/-. In order to promote sportsmanship, the PFF Chief also decided to hand over Rs 100,000 to winner of the Fair Play trophy to Zarai Tarqiati Bank Limitd (ZTBL).

Best referee of the league was awarded to Irshad-Ul-Haq for 100, 000/-, Best Assistant Referee of the league Adnan Anjum with 50, 000/- award and the best match commissioner of the league was given to Mr. Abdul Shakoor Baloch from Sindh Centre with award of Rs. 100,000/-.

In 9th PPFL 2012 Kaleem Ullah of KRL is the highest Goal Scorer with 35 goals. Muhammad Rasool of KESC is second highest goal scorer with 25 goals. Third and fourth highest goal scorers are Ansar Abbas of Army and Muhammad of KPT 16 & 13 goals respectively. It is pertinent to mention here that in 9th PPFL 2012, Kaleem Ullah has made a record of 35 Goals and became Highest Goal scorer in the history of PPFL by any individual.

From 2004–2011 each player made a mark by scoring goals, in 2004 Arif Mahmood of Wapda with 20 goals, in 2005 Imran Hussain of Army 21 goals, In 2006 Arif Mahmood 12 Goals, in 2007 Arif Mahmood 21 goals, in 2008 Muhammad Rasool of KRL 22 Goals, in 2009 Arif Mahmood 20 Goals, in 2010 Arif Mahmood again scored 21 goals and in 2011 Jadeed Khan Pathan of Afghan FC scored 22 goals. It is a unique record that Arif Mahmood of Wapda, that he became 5 times highest goal scorer in the history of PPFL.

KRL is the current champion’s of 9th PPFL 2012 that make their tally to three League trophies of 2009, 2011 & 2012 whereas Wapda lead with 4 time champions of PPFL and Army 2 times.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email






Leave a Reply