Eight candidates contest four AFC places on FIFA Council

Kuala Lumpur, Feb 2, 2017: The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) has received the candidatures of eight candidates for the four places available to the AFC on the FIFA Council. At least one of those four places must be filled by a woman. The candidates who have submitted their candidatures to contest the election at the AFC Congress on May 8, 2017 in Bahrain are:

FIFA Council Member (3 positions):

1. Mr Zhang Jian (China PR);
2. Mr Mong Gyu Chung (Korea Republic)
3. Sheikh Ahmad Fahad Al-Sabah (Kuwait);
4. Mr Mariano V. Araneta Jr. (Philippines)

FIFA Council Member (female, 1 position):

1. Moya Dodd (Australia)
2. Mahfuza Akhter (Bangladesh)
3. Han Un Gyong (DPR Korea)
4. Susan R. A. Alshalabi (Palestine)

The final and confirmed list of candidates will be published as soon as the eligibility checks have been conducted.

The AFC will also elect a new AFC Vice-President (East) to replace Mr Zhang Jilong (CHN) for the remaining term of 2015-2019. One candidature has been received for this position:

AFC Vice President (East):
1. Mong Gyu Chung (Korea Republic)

In accordance to the FIFA Statutes and the FIFA Governance Regulations, the above list of candidates for the FIFA Council will be submitted to the FIFA General Secretariat in order for the FIFA Review Committee to carry out the eligibility check on each candidate.

The AFC Electoral Committee comprises Chairperson F Randall Cunliffe (Guam) and Deputy Chairpersons Lim Kia Tong (Singapore) and Muhannad Fahmi Hamad (Bahrain). The Committee is responsible for the organisation, running and supervision of the elective Congress. —- AFC

Print Friendly, PDF & Email






Leave a Reply