Chairmen of Ethics Committee announced

Zurich – Switzerland, July 17, 2012: The FIFA Executive Committee, chaired by President Joseph S. Blatter, took another major step in its good governance process today by unanimously appointing Michael J Garcia (USA) and Hans-Joachim Eckert (Germany) as the chairmen of the Ethics Committee during its extraordinary meeting held in Zurich.

Michael J Garcia will lead the investigatory chamber and Hans-Joachim Eckert will head the adjudicatory chamber of the new Ethics Committee. (The biographies of both men can be accessed on the right hand side).

The 62nd FIFA Congress, held in Budapest on 25 May, had given the Executive Committee the mandate to appoint the chairmen of the Ethics Committee. The Executive Committee also appointed the members of the two chambers of the new Ethics Committee (full list below).

The Executive Committee also unanimously adopted the new Code of Ethics, which will come into force on 25 July 2012. The new code, which will be available to access on from that date, follows the proposals made by the Task Force Ethics Committee and has notably been adapted to allow the separation of the Ethics Committee into two chambers with investigatory and judicial powers, as approved by the Congress in Budapest. The Executive Committee decided that there will be no time limitation for the prosecution of bribery and corruption matters.

Furthermore, the Executive Committee confirmed that the ISL non-prosecution order will be handed over to the new Ethics Committee investigatory chamber chairman for examination, as was decided already on 21 October 2011 by the Executive Committee, when it was decided that the file would be given to an independent body.

The meeting also marked another important milestone as it was the first time that a woman, IOC member and Burundi FA President Lydia Nsekera, had attended a FIFA Executive Committee meeting, having been appointed as a member of the Executive Committee at the Congress in Budapest.

In addition, CONCACAF President Jeffrey Webb was appointed as a new member of the FIFA Finance Committee and the FIFA Emergency Committee.

Finally, the Executive Committee decided to postpone the discussion on the modalities of the implementation of the decision taken in May to allow FIFA member associations to play friendly matches with the Football Federation of Kosovo until its next meeting on 27 and 28 September 2012.

Appointment of the following persons as members of the investigatory chamber of the Ethics Committee until the 63rd FIFA Congress 2013:

Chairman: Michael J Garcia

Mr Robert Torres (Guam)

Mr Les Murray (Australia)

Mr Ronald Jones (Barbados)

Mr Jorge Iván Palacio (Colombia)

Mr Noël Le Graët (France)

Mr Ahmed Ould Abderrahmane (Mauritania)

Appointment of the following persons as members of the adjudicatory chamber of the Ethics Committee until the 63rd FIFA Congress 2013:

Chairman: Hans-Joachim Eckert

Mr Petrus Damaseb (Namibia)

Mr Juan Pedro Damiani (Uruguay)

Mr Burton K. Haimes (USA)

Mr Abdoulaye Mokhtar Diop (Senegal)

Mr Jack Kariko (Papua New Guinea)

Mr Yngve Hallén (Norway)

Mrs Thi My Dung Nguyen (Vietnam). —– FIFA/Image © Foto-net

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Leave a Reply