AFC Chief congratulates Japan football team

Kuala Lumpur – Malaysia June 06, 2013: JAPAN FOOTBALL, AFC President Salman Bin Ebrahim Al Khalifa has congratulated the Japan national team on their qualification for the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil. Japan drew 1-1 with Australia in Saitama in their penultimate game of the final round Tuesday to book their place in the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil.

Shaikh Salman wrote to the Japan Football Association President Kuniya Daini: “I was delighted to learn that Asian champions Japan are the first side to qualify for the festival of world football, which takes place next year. I would like to congratulate the Japan football family on this achievement.”

The AFC President also expressed the hope that the qualification would have provided the right boost to the Samurai Blue as they prepare to battle in the FIFA Confederations Cup in two weeks’ time.

“I wish the team the very best as they seek to fly high the Asian flag on the world stage,” said Shaikh Salman.

With three more automatic berths from Asia waiting to be filled, Shaikh Salman said: “With just two more rounds left, the race to represent Asia is going to be very exciting. I wish all the teams luck.”

Draws for the AFC Champions League & AFC Cup 2013 Knockout Stages

Kuala Lumpur – Malaysia, June 06, 2013: The draws for the AFC Champions League & AFC Cup 2013 Knockout Stages will be held at the AFC House, Kuala Lumpur, on June 20, 2013.

The clubs who have qualified from Round of 16 will participate in two separate open draws to find out their opponents in the knockout stages of the AFC Champions League and AFC Cup 2013.

You are invited to attend the draws. Please walk-in and register at the Media Desk from 14:00 hours onwards. In case of questions, please write to

Event Details

1. Date: June 20th, 2013

2. Time: 1500 (AFC Cup) /1600 (AFC Champions League)

3. Venue: AFC House, Kuala Lumpur

4. Participants: Club/MA representatives

The eight clubs who have qualified for the 2013 AFC Champions League Quarter-Finals are:

Al Ahli (KSA)

Al Shabab (KSA)

Guangzhou Evergrande (CHN)

Esteghlal (IRN)

Kashiwa Reysol (JPN)

FC Seoul (KOR)

Lekhwiya (QAT)

Buriram United (THA)

The eight clubs who have qualified for the 2013 AFC Cup Quarter-Finals are:

Kuwait SC (KUW)

Qadsia (KUW)

Al Faisaly (JOR)

Al Shorta (SYR)

East Bengal (IND)

New Radiant (MDV)

Semen Padang (IDN)

Kitchee (HKG)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email





Leave a Reply