Zaheer Abbas confirmed as ICC President, Serbia admitted as Affiliate Member of the ICC

Barbados, June 24, 2015: Former Pakistan captain Zaheer Abbas assumed the role of the ICC President on day three of the ICC Annual Conference week in Barbados.

Zaheer began his one-year term and thanked the ICC Board and the Full Council for confirming his nomination. He said: “I feel truly honoured and humbled to be appointed as the President of the governing body of our great game.

“This is the sport which has given us friendship, respect, recognition and an opportunity to serve our countries in different capacities. Personally speaking, it has given me more than I can ever possibly repay.

“I am thankful to all of you for the support and confidence placed in me by confirming my nomination. I am also grateful to the PCB for proposing my candidacy as the ICC President. I assure you all that I will stand shoulder to shoulder with all the ICC Members as we continue to strive to inspire more and more people to fall in love with the game we cherish.”

ICC Chairman N.Srinivasan congratulated Zaheer on his appointment, when he said: “Zaheer’s outstanding career as a stylish right-handed batsman is reflected in his remarkable record with 108 first-class hundreds and more than 7,500 international runs.

“Zaheer is clearly an iconic cricketer who always played the game with skill, flair and in the true spirit. He is a worthy ambassador of our great game.”

Zaheer, 67, played 78 Tests and 62 ODIs from 1969 to 1985 in which he scored 5,062 and 2,572 runs, respectively. He also played in the 1975, 1979 and 1983 ICC Cricket World Cups and captained Pakistan in 14 Tests and 13 ODIs. With 108 centuries, Zaheer is the only Asian batsman to score a century of first-class centuries as he finished his 22-year career with 34,843 runs.

Zaheer was also an ICC match referee in the 1993 series between Sri Lanka and the West Indies in Sri Lanka.

The ICC Council also approved the admission of the Serbia Cricket Federation (SCF) as the 58th Affiliate Member of the ICC.

Regrettably, the ICC Council also agreed to suspend the Affiliate Memberships of Morocco and Turkey, while Brunei was removed as an Affiliate Member.
The ICC has 105 members.
The ICC President’s role will be rotated in the following order:
– CSA (2016-17)
– ZC (2017-18)
– WICB (2018-19)
– ECB (2019-20)
– Associate/Affiliate Members (2020-21)
– Associate/Affiliate Members (2021-22)
– BCCI (2022-23)
– SLC (2023-24)
– CA (2024-25)
– NZC (2025-26)
– BCB (2026-27)

The ICC President is required under the ICC’s Memorandum and Articles of Association to be ‘an iconic former international cricketer of high standing and repute (unless truly exceptional circumstances mean that nobody so qualified is available)’.

The Full Council includes 37 Associate Members, five Affiliate Member representatives and 10 Full Members. The ICC Chairman and ICC Chief Executive are also part of the Full Council but don’t have voting rights. —- ICC

Print Friendly, PDF & Email





Leave a Reply