Scots multimedia company agrees deal to cover ICC World Twenty20 2012 Qualifier

Scots multimedia company, QuipuTV has secured an agreement with the International Cricket Council to stream fourteen group matches in next week’s ICC World Twenty20 2012 Qualifier in the United Arab Emirates. The tournament gets underway in the UAE on 13 March and runs to 24 March. The top two teams will qualify for the ICC World Twenty20 2012 to be held in Sri Lanka in September and October this year.

Sixteen countries will participate in two pools of eight. Matches will be played in Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Sharjah.

Tim Anderson, the ICC’s Global Development Manager said: “This is an exciting opportunity for Associate and Affiliate cricket to be seen by a global audience. We are delighted that fans will be able to watch a live online stream of the biggest tournament in the history of the Pepsi ICC Development Programme.”

Jack McGill, QuipuTV’s managing director, added: “Internet and technological advances make webcasting cricket much cheaper than traditional television broadcasting, which requires a fleet of production and satellite trucks. In Dubai we will be streaming live cricket matches with four cameras and a computer. It’s redesigning the nature of how we broadcast, giving fans the opportunity to watch the group stages of this important tournament.”

The fourteen matches QuipuTV will stream are:

Tuesday 13 March AM: Ireland v Namibia; PM: Kenya v Scotland

Wednesday 14 March AM: Canada v PNG; PM: Uganda v Oman

Thursday 15 March AM: Namibia v USA; PM: Scotland v Uganda

Friday 16 March AM: Netherlands v Denmark; PM: Ireland v USA

Sunday 18 March AM: Hong Kong v Denmark; PM: Afghanistan v Canada

Monday 19 March AM: Netherlands v Nepal; PM: PNG v Bermuda

Tuesday 20 March AM: Afghanistan v Bermuda; PM: Namibia v Italy

The pool matches will be streamed live on, as well as the websites of Cricket Scotland, Ireland, KNCB, USA, Italy, and the Asian Cricket Council.

• QuipuTV was founded in July 2011. Production credits include: all 21 matches of the EuroHockey Indoor Club Champions Trophy in Edinburgh (February 2012); England v ICC Associate & Affiliate XI in Dubai (January 2012); and Ireland v Canada, Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Championship ODIs from Dublin (September 2011).

• The ICC World Twenty20 is held every two years. The current world champion is England who won the tournament in 2010 held in the West Indies.

• The sixteen countries competing in this month’s qualifiers are: Afghanistan; Bermuda; Canada; Denmark; Hong Kong; Ireland; Italy; Kenya; Namibia; Nepal; Netherlands; Oman; Papua New Guinea; Scotland; Uganda; the United States of America.

• Ireland, Kenya, Canada, the Netherlands, Afghanistan and Scotland have direct entry to the qualifiers on the basis of their ODI status, while regional qualifying events were held across the ICC’s five regions to provide the qualifying pathway for the other ten nations.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Leave a Reply