Schedule and match officials announced for Pepsi ICC WCL Division 5

Dubai, Jan 16, 2012: The International Cricket Council (ICC) today announced the schedule and match officials for the upcoming Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Division 5 (WCL Div. 5) which will be held in Singapore from 18 to 25 February. Six teams will compete for the opportunity to finish in the top two of the event and ultimately gain promotion to the Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Division 4 which will be held later in the year.

The teams, Argentina, Bahrain, Cayman Islands, Guernsey, Malaysia and hosts Singapore will play across three venues in the country, which also played host to the Pepsi ICC WCL Division 6 in 2009.

The match officials for the event include Tony Hill of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires. Hill will be part of a team of officials from a wide-range of countries who will be officiating in a week-long tournament which begins on 18 February. During his time with the match officials, Hill will also be acting as a mentor and helping to educate and guide the umpires throughout the tournament, as part of an ICC initiative for umpires development outside the Full Members.

The umpires standing in WCL Div. 5 are:

Steve Douglas (Bermuda)

Rockie D’Mello (Kenya)

N Srivan Narayanan (Malaysia)

Durga Subedi (Nepal)

Tony Hill (New Zealand)

Afzal Pathan (Oman)

Sri Ganesh (Singapore)

Former Sri Lanka Test bowler, Graeme La Brooy will be the referee for the tournament which takes place across three grounds in Singapore -Kallang Cricket Ground, Singapore Cricket Club (SCC) and the Indian Association Ground (IA). The start time for all games will be 0930 local time.

The full schedule for the Pepsi ICC WCL Div. 5 is as follows:


17 Feb – Team Practices

18 Feb – Singapore v Cayman Islands (Kallang), Guernsey v Bahrain (SCC), Argentina v Malaysia (IA)

19 Feb – Argentina v Bahrain (Kallang), Malaysia v Cayman Islands (SCC), Singapore v Guernsey (IA)

20 Feb – Rest/Reserve Day

21 Feb – Malaysia v Singapore (Kallang), Argentina v Guernsey (SCC), Cayman Islands v Bahrain (IA)

22 Feb – Guernsey v Malaysia (Kallang), Bahrain v Singapore (SCC), Argentina v Cayman Islands (IA)

23 Feb – Rest/Reserve Day

24 Feb – Cayman Islands v Guernsey (Kallang), Argentina v Singapore (SCC), Bahrain v Malaysia (IA)

25 Feb – Final (Kallang), Third/Fourth play-off (SCC), Fifth/Sixth play-off (IA)

All matches are scheduled to start at 0930 local time


Print Friendly, PDF & Email





Leave a Reply