Pepsi ICC Development Programme Awards 2011 launched

Dubai, ICC Media Release, 13 November 2010: The International Cricket Council has announced details of the annual Pepsi ICC Development Programme Awards for 2011. This is the tenth year of the awards, which form part of the ICC’s commitment to promoting excellence in cricket development outside the ICC’s Full Members. The awards are designed to recognise exceptional performance and service to the game in ICC Associate and Affiliate Member countries, highlighting cricket’s expanding reach and sharing best practice.

ICC Global Development Manager Tim Anderson said: “The Pepsi ICC Development Programme, together with ICC’s Associate and Affiliate Members, is dedicated to the significant growth of our Great Sport around the world.  Considerable progress has been made in this regard in recent years, and these awards provide an opportunity to recognise the outstanding programmes, initiatives and people that are contributing to this expansion.

“Award categories in 2011 have been designed to reflect the important Development aspects of the new ICC Strategic Plan that strives for cricket to be A Bigger, Better, Global Game by 2015.  Noting the substantial activity currently taking place in Associate and Affiliate Members in-line with this vision, I encourage all Members to submit their nominations for the 2011 Awards.”

There are a total of eight awards across a range of country and individual categories. Nominations are initially considered on a regional basis with the various regional winners then progressing to the global stage. Further details and application forms are available on the official ICC website here.

The format of this year’s awards is similar to previous years with all 2011 nominations needing to be submitted to ICC regional offices by 20 December 2011. Regions will select and announce the respective regional winners by 26 January 2012 with these then also put forward for the global judging process that will take place during February. The Global winners will be announced on 28 February 2012.

All global winners in the following categories will receive a US$2,000 cricket equipment grant to their national cricket body:

·         Best Overall Cricket Development Programme

·         Best Women’s Cricket Initiative

·         Best Junior Participation Initiative

·         Best Cricket Promotional and Marketing Programme

·         Photo of the Year

·         Best Spirit of Cricket Initiative

·         Volunteer of the Year

·         Lifetime Service Award

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.