PCB announces schedule of Australia ODIs

Lahore, Feb 10, 2019: The PCB announces schedule today announced the schedule of five-match ODI series between Pakistan and Australia, which will be played in the United Arab Emirates with the series opener in Sharjah on 22 March and the last match in Dubai on 31 March.

PCB announces schedule: Pakistan ranks fifth on the ICC ODI team rankings, while Australia is sixth – just two points behind.

The series is part of both sides’ ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 preparations, where Australia will defend the title.

Both the sides will square off against each other in the event proper in Taunton on 12 June.

“Australia are the world champions and this series will provide the Pakistan cricket team an opportunity to assess their Word Cup preparations,” PCB Director Cricket – International, Zakir Khan, said.

“The PCB was optimistic that it will be able to convince Cricket Australia to send its side for some matches after successfully staging high-profile bilateral international series and the HBL Pakistan Super League matches in the past 18 months.

“However, the CA has confirmed that they will send their security expert to oversee the execution of security plans for the HBL PSL 2019 matches and bilateral series against other international sides in Pakistan, and will also speak with the ICC-recommended PCB security consultant.

In the meantime, the CA have confirmed they will maintain regular contact with the ICC,” Zakir Khan added.

Lahore hosted the ICC World XI, also comprising Australia Test captain Tim Paine and fast bowler Ben Cutting, in September 2017 (refereed by Sir Richie Richardson of the ICC panel).

A month later, Sri Lanka played a T20I at the same venue.

Last month, the Windies women’s team played three T20Is against Pakistan women’s team in Karachi.

Lahore and Karachi shared three matches between them in 2018, while eight matches are scheduled in the upcoming event which commences 14 February.

22 March – 1st ODI, Sharjah (d/n)
24 March – 2nd ODI, Sharjah (d/n)
27 March – 3rd ODI, Abu Dhabi (d/n)
29 March – 4th ODI, Dubai (d/n)
31 March – 5th ODI, Dubai (d/n). —- PCB

Print Friendly, PDF & Email






Leave a Reply