Outcomes from ICC Annual Conference week

London, June 29, 2013: The ICC Annual Conference 2013 concluded in London on Saturday with the ICC and IDI Board meetings. Some of the key decisions taken included:

ICC global events from 2015-2023

The IDI Board confirmed that the ICC World Test Championship will be staged in 2017 and England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) will host the inaugural event in June/July 2017, while the second edition will be held in India in February/March 2021.

In addition to this, between 2015 and 2023, the ICC will stage 18 events, including two ICC Cricket World Cups, two ICC World Test Championships, two ICC World Twenty20 events, three ICC Women’s World Cups, three ICC U19 Cricket World Cups, two ICC Women’s World Twenty20 and four qualifying tournaments.

Subject to finalising relevant agreements with Members, the ICC major global events for the period 2016-2023 are:

ICC World Twenty20 2016 – BCCI

ICC World Test Championship 2017 – ECB

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 – ECB

ICC World Twenty20 2020 – Cricket Australia

ICC World Test Championship 2021 – BCCI

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 – BCCI

The ICC qualifying events for the period 2015-2023 are:

ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier 2015 – Cricket Ireland/Cricket Scotland

ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2018 – BCB

ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier 2019 – Tender

ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2022 – Zimbabwe Cricket

Other ICC events for the period 2016-2023 are:

ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2016 – BCB

ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 – ECB

ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2018 – NZC

ICC Women’s World Twenty20 2018 – WICB

ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2020 – CSA

ICC Women’s World Cup 2021 – NZC

ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2022 – WICB

ICC Women’s World Twenty20 2022 – CSA

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said: “We are delighted to confirm the exciting schedule of events through to 2023.

“The ICC Champions Trophy in England and Wales was highly acclaimed and appreciated by all. However, the principle of one pinnacle global event for each of the three formats over a four-year cycle is a good one and, as such, the ICC Board has agreed to replace the Champions Trophy with the ICC World Test Championship. Now that the ICC World Test Championship has been confirmed, we’ll work on the playing conditions and qualification criteria, and will submit these to the ICC Board for approval in due course.”

Context for international cricket

The ICC Board supported the strategy of ensuring an optimum balance between the three formats of the game – especially Test cricket – and approved the recommendation that the Full Members should play a minimum of 16 Tests in each four-year cycle.

In order to ensure that all ODIs played over the four-year cycle between ICC Cricket World Cups count towards a team’s ranking, the ICC Board agreed to change the ODI rankings period from three years to four years.

For the sake of consistency, the ICC Board also agreed to change the calculation of the T20 rankings to cover the same period.

It was also agreed to change the date of the annual ICC Rankings update to 1 May of each year rather than 1 August, acknowledging that the beginning of May provided a more logical break in the international season.

All the changes will be backdated to 1 May 2013.

ICC World Twenty20 2014 Bangladesh

The IDI Board reviewed an inspection report by the ICC Venue Consultant on the venues for the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 and expressed its concern regarding the progress of construction and improvements to playing facilities in Cox’s Bazar and Sylhet. The Board noted that a further inspection and report is scheduled for August after which a final decision will be taken on the venues for the event.

The IDI Board also agreed to expand the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 to a 10-team tournament. This means, the top three teams from the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier 2013 to be held in Dublin, Ireland, from 23-31 July will now qualify and will join Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and West Indies in the tournament finals.

Teams participating in the Dublin tournament include Canada, Ireland, Japan, Netherlands, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Zimbabwe.

ICC Chief Executives’ Committee (CEC) and Cricket Committee recommendations

The ICC Board supported the CEC decision to make the following changes to the ICC Playing Conditions:

• TV Umpire review of a No ball on the fall of a wicket can now include waist-high full tosses and bouncers above shoulder height

• The formal introduction of a two-step process when the umpire believes the condition of the ball has been changed, but there is no eyewitness to identify which player changed the condition of the ball:

i) Replace the ball and give the captain a first and final warning

ii) award a five-run penalty to the batting team, replace the ball (with the batsman to choose) and report the captain under the ICC Code of Conduct

• Zing wickets (with flashing LEDs in the bails and stumps) are approved for use in ODI and T20I matches, subject to an independent assessment of the technology being received by the ICC. The new ICC Playing Conditions will come into effect from 1 October 2013.

Membership and eligibility criteria

Afghanistan was confirmed as the 37th Associate Member of the ICC while Romania was accepted as an Affiliate Member.

The ICC Board also agreed that the ICC eligibility criteria specifically relating to the standout period of a Full Member player who wishes to return to his original Associate Member be reduced from four years to two years.

The ICC Board consists of the chairman or president from each of the 10 Full Members plus three elected Associate Member representatives. Also present at ICC Board meetings is the ICC President, who chairs proceedings, the ICC Chief Executive and the ICC Vice-President.

Alan Isaac ICC President

Mustafa Kamal ICC Vice President

David Richardson ICC Chief Executive

Dave Cameron West Indies

Peter Chingoka Zimbabwe

Giles Clarke England and Wales

Jayantha Dharmadasa Sri Lanka

Wally Edwards Australia

Jagmohan Dalmiya India*

Nazmul Hassan Bangladesh

Imran Khwaja Associate Member Representative

Chris Nenzani South Africa

Chris Moller New Zealand

Keith Oliver Associate Member Representative

Najam Sethi Pakistan (acting)

Neil Speight Associate Member Representative

The CEC comprises the Chief Executives of the 10 Full Member nations as well as three Associate Member representatives. Also present is the ICC Chief Executive who chairs the meeting and, by invitation, the ICC President and the chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee.

David Richardson ICC Chief Executive (Chairman)

Alan Isaac ICC President (ex Officio)

Anil Kumble ICC Cricket Committee Chairman (ex Officio)

Intikhab Alam Pakistan*

Naasei Appiah South Africa

Nizam Uddin Chowdhury Bangladesh

Lindsay Crocker New Zealand*

David Collier England and Wales

John Cribbin Associate Member Representative

Warren Deutrom Associate Member Representative

Francois Erasmus Associate Member Representative

Michael Muirhead West Indies

Sanjay Patel India

Wilfred Mukondiwa Zimbabwe

Nishantha Ranatunga Sri Lanka

James Sutherland Australia

*denotes alternates

Print Friendly, PDF & Email






Leave a Reply