New domestic cricket structure unveiled

By Rashid Ali Siddiqui, Karachi – Pakistan, July 24, 2014: domestic cricket structure, After months of deliberations, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) unfolded domestic cricket structure introducing two ties of first class cricket.

The revamp plan initiated with the objective to prepare a strong Pakistan team for the ICC World Cup 2015 to be played in Australia and New Zealand.

The new structure will have 26 teams — 13 departments and 13 regions — competing in two divisions in the Quaid-e-Azam (QEA) Trophy, the premier first-class competition.

Haroon Rasheed, Director game development announced the new structure saying the division one tournament will be called Gold league comprising six regional and six departmental teams while the division two has been named as Silver league with seven department and as many regional teams.

“Each year, the bottom two teams from division one will be relegated and the two top teams from division two promoted,” he says.

List of domestic tournaments:
Inter-regional Under-19 Cricket Tournament (August 31 onwards; 39 matches in three-day and one-day format)

Pentangular One-day Cup ( September 11-21; 11 matches)

Quaid-e-Azam Trophy – Gold (October 12 – January 22; 67 matches)

Quaid-e-Azam Trophy – Silver (October 12 – December 7; 46 matches)

Patrons Trophy Gold Cup, One-Day (January 25 – February 8; 33 matches)

Patrons Trophy Silver Cup One-Day (January 31 – February 15; 30 matches)

Quaid-e-Azam Trophy Grade-II for four regions (February 4-27; 14 matches)

Twenty20 Cup (April 6-19; 35 matches)

President’s Trophy Grade-II (February 21 to March 22; 63 matches).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email





One response to “New domestic cricket structure unveiled”

  1. Kelli Avatar

    I like to party, not look arlcties up online. You made it happen.

Leave a Reply