ICC World Cup Trophy gets warm reception in Pakistan. By Rashid Ali Siddiqui

Karachi – Pakistan, September 18, 2014: The hype of cricket’s mega event – ICC World Cup 2015 started increasing with the visit of glittery trophy in Pakistan. Captain Misbah-ul-Haq, T20 Captain Shahid Afridi and ex-captains Javed Miandad and Moin Khan were prominent among the masses that greeted the trophy in Lahore and Karachi. They were all unanimous that Pakistan team was capable to win the trophy and repeat history of 1992 World Cup.

World Cup Trophy made first appearance at historic Minar-e-Pakistan in Lahore as part of its global tour and ended its journey in Pakistan at Mausoleum of Qauid-e-Azam, father of nation in Karachi. Captain Misbah-ul-Haq received the prestigious trophy at the Minar-e-Pakistan saying “The ICC Cricket World Cup is the biggest global tournament for a professional cricketer. All teams are gearing up for this event and all our strategies are building up to prepare ourselves for the challenge.”

Trophy appeared in Karachi during the inaugural day of National T20 Championship. Pakistan T20 team captain Shahid Afridi lifted up in front of cheering crowd at National Stadium. He said that he wished Pakistan team repeat 1992 history. “Our players need to have never-say-die approach in coming World Cup as our heroes did in 1992,” he said. Waseem Haider, a member of 1992 World Cup winning team remarked that leadership like Imran Khan needed for the team in next World Cup.

Legendary cricketer Javed Miandad unveiled Trophy at the mausoleum of Quaid-i-Azam. He was of the opinion that it was honour for the country that it had already won the World Cup in 1992. “Pakistan team should focus and give a good performance in the forthcoming World Cup keeping 1992 triumph in view. After completion of journey Trophy returned Dubai and then its next visit will be to South Africa. Pakistan was the tenth stopover of the trophy since its journey began on 3 July.

The trophy has so far visited Sri Lanka, India, Bangladesh, England, Wales, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Ireland and Afghanistan. The trophy will also visit Zimbabwe, UAE and the West Indies. Pakistan has been placed in Pool B along with India, Ireland, South Africa, West Indies, Zimbabwe and United Arab Emirates (UAE).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email






Leave a Reply