ICC ODI Team of the Year announced

Colombo, Sept 14, 2012: The ICC today announced its ODI Team of the Year, as chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by West Indian batting legend and former captain Clive Lloyd.

The announcement was made by the ICC’s Chief Executive, David Richardson, at a special function ahead of the LG ICC Awards ceremony which is being held tomorrow night at the Waters Edge, Colombo. The LG ICC Awards recognise the best international players and officials of the past 12 months.

ICC ODI Team of the Year (in batting order)

Gautam Gambhir (Ind)

Alastair Cook (Eng)

Kumar Sangakkara (SL)

Virat Kohli (Ind)

MS Dhoni (Ind, wicketkeeper/captain)

Michael Clarke (Aus)

Shahid Afridi (Pak)

Morne Morkel (SA)

Steven Finn (Eng)

Lasith Malinga (SL)

Saeed Ajmal (Pak)

12th Man – Shane Watson (Aus)

Six countries are represented in the 12-man line-up and just one player – Mahendra Singh Dhoni of India – five years in a row. The ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 winning captain keeps wicket and leads the side and is joined by fellow ICC ODI Team of the Year 2011 members Kumar Sangakkara and Lasith Malinga of Sri Lanka and Australia’s Shane Watson.

Chairman of the LG ICC Awards selection panel, Lloyd said: “This team, along with the Test Team of the Year was extremely difficult to decide upon but we feel the side has strength to bat well down the order while also having a good variety for any type of conditions when it comes to its bowling attack.

“It’s pleasing to include for the first time the likes of Virat Kohli of India, Saeed Ajmal of Pakistan and Steven Finn of England – none of whom have appeared in an ICC ODI Team of the Year before.”

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson added: “I think we can safely say that this is one of the strongest ODI Team of the Year selections ever in the LG ICC Awards history.

“With six countries represented and a vast expanse of talent the team would be a challenge to beat for any number of opposition sides. All the members of the squad should be very proud of their selections, the panel had a tough task deciding the final 12 and it is a fantastic achievement to be included. ”

Lloyd was joined on the panel by former England Women’s captain Clare Connor, former Sri Lanka batsman Marvan Attapatu, former West Indies all-rounder Carl Hooper and Australia’s former bowler Tom Moody. Statistics were available as a guide but were not necessarily the overwhelming factor in the choices made.

The ICC ODI Team of the Year was one of two teams selected by the ICC selection panel along with the Test line-up which was announced last month.

The Selection Panel

The LG ICC Awards selection panel was charged with two main tasks: providing a long-list of nominations to the 32 members of the voting academy to cast their votes in the individual player award categories and, using their experience, knowledge and appreciation of the game, select the ICC Test and ODI teams.

Clive Lloyd (chairman)

One of the most recognisable and respected figures in world cricket, Lloyd led West Indies to victories in the first two ICC Cricket World Cups (in 1975 and 1979) and played a crucial role in the overall success of the team during the 1970s and early 1980s. As a big, hard-hitting, left-handed batsman, he scored 7,515 runs in 110 Tests, including 19 centuries. In 87 ODIs, he scored 1,977 runs at an average of just under 40. He was also named Wisden Cricketer of the Year in 1971. When he retired from playing, he remained involved as a coach, manager and ICC match referee and is currently the chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee.

Marvan Attapatu

A former Sri Lanka captain, he grew from a modest start to his Test career to logging six double hundreds in his career. In all he played 90 Tests scoring 5502 runs with 16 hundreds at an average of 39.02 and also played 268 One-Day Internationals with 8529 runs with 11 hundreds at an average of 37.57. He formed a successful opening pair with Sanath Jayasuriya in the 1990s, while later he captained Sri Lanka from 2003 to 2006 in both Tests and ODIs. Post retirement he has been involved with the game first as Singapore coach and then as Sri Lanka’s batting coach.

Tom Moody

ICC Cricket World Cup winner in 1987 and 1999, Moody was part of the revival of Australian cricket especially in the One-Day International format. His medium-pace and approach with the long handle made him a ready fit in the limited-overs format. After a back injury ended his playing career, he turned into a successful coach. His success with Worcesteshire as coach led him to the Head Coach role with the Sri Lanka side from 2005 to 2007, and he later when on to coach Western Australia and Kings XI Punjab. Currently, he is also pursuing a career as TV commentator and summariser.

Carl Hooper

Hooper held the key to West Indies fortunes in late 1980s and 1990s alongside Brian Lara. His 102 Tests fetched him 5762 runs with 13 hundreds at an average of 36.46. He also played a key role with his off-spin in an era dominated by pace, highlighted with his career-haul of 114 wickets. His One-Day International career was also successful, he scored 5761 runs and picked 193 wickets in 227 games. Hooper captained the West Indies to the ICC Cricket World Cup 2003 and then retired from the game.

Clare Connor

A former England women’s captain, who led the side from 2000 to 2006 including the ICC Women’s World Cup in South Africa 2005. Connor batted right-handed and bowled left-arm spin and in 1999 she claimed a hat-trick against India. After her retirement from international cricket, the Sussex player became a successful TV commentator, while she was awarded an OBE in 2006 for her services to women’s cricket. She is currently the Head of Women’s Cricket at the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) and also chairs the ICC Women’s Committee.

Based on the period between 4 August 2011 and 6 August 2012, the LG ICC Awards 2012 take into account performances by players and officials in a remarkable period for the game.

The LG ICC Awards ceremony is now in its ninth year and this year is being held in Colombo. Previous ceremonies were held in London (2004 and 2011), Sydney (2005), Mumbai (2006), Johannesburg (2007 and 2009), Dubai (2008) and Bengaluru (2010). —- ICC

Print Friendly, PDF & Email






Leave a Reply