ICC Cricket Committee to meet at Lord’s on Wednesday and Thursday

London, May 28, 2012: The ICC Cricket Committee will hold its annual meeting at Lord’s Cricket Ground in London on 30 and 31 May.

A wide range of issues will be discussed during the two day meeting including Twenty20 strategy, the annual review of the Decision Review System (DRS) and the format of ODI cricket.

The committee is chaired by former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd and is administered by David Richardson, ICC General Manager – Cricket. It includes representatives of all stakeholders in the modern game, including players, coaches, match officials, the media, the law-makers (MCC) and statisticians.

The committee’s remit is to discuss and consult on cricket-playing matters and to formulate recommendations to the Chief Executives’ Committee and the ICC Board for approval. The next meetings of those committees are set for Kuala Lumpur during the ICC’s annual conference week, from 24-28 June.

Among the items for consideration by the ICC Cricket Committee are:

Twenty20 Strategy

The ICC Cricket Committee will continue the important strategic discussions which are ongoing and have previously been held at the ICC Board and Chief Executive’s Committee (CEC). Members of the Cricket Committee will be able to add their views in refining a long-term strategy intended to protect the appeal of Twenty20 as well as to ensure the viability of all three formats of the game.

The ICC Cricket Committee will consider:

• The role of Twenty20 cricket in the growth of the game in the developing cricket world

• The volume of Twenty20 cricket (relative to the volume of the other formats) to be played at bi-lateral Full Member level

• Global Twenty20 ICC event(s);

• The proliferation of domestic leagues (involving foreign players and, in some cases, private ownership) and the consequent impact on international cricket

The ICC Board and CEC have already agreed that the ICC World Twenty20 will remain a joint men’s and women’s event and will be increased from 12 to 16 men’s teams from 2014 onwards.

Format of ODI cricket

At last year’s ICC Cricket Committee meeting two changes to the ODI format were introduced. Teams were compelled to take the batting and bowling Powerplays between the 16th and 40th overs and were required to use two new balls, one from each end.

At the same time, Members were encouraged to continue trialling the following innovations at domestic level:

• Increasing the maximum number of overs each bowler could deliver

• No compulsory close catchers

• A maximum of four fielders outside the 30 yard circle during non-Powerplay overs

• Increasing the number of short pitched deliveries (above shoulder height) that can be delivered per over from one to two.

These changes and suggested trial innovations are aimed at making the 50-over game a more attacking one, both from a batting and bowling perspective, especially during the middle overs. It is also aimed at improving the balance between bat and ball and to create an identity for ODIs distinct from the Test and Twenty20 formats.

The ICC Cricket Committee will consider the impact of the rule changes and the outcome of these trials and whether any other changes should be introduced to further enhance the format at international level.

Day/Night Test match cricket

The ICC Cricket Committee will receive reports of the ongoing trials and consider reports involving the development and feasibility of using different colour balls in multi-day formats in day/night conditions.

Illegal bowling actions

The ICC Cricket Committee will receive an update on the research project, commissioned by ICC, with the assistance of MCC, aimed at developing wearable technology that can be used to monitor bowling actions by providing real time feedback to the athlete, coach and umpires during training/match environments.

A prototype sensor has been developed capable of producing data that would indicate whether or not the bowler’s elbow is being straightened during the delivery swing. The next phase of the project will involve the further development of the sensors and the validation of the data produced.

Switch hit and reverse sweep shots

In May 2009, the ICC Cricket Committee endorsed an MCC view that the switch-hit was an exciting shot which offered the bowlers a good chance of taking a wicket and thus one which should remain a legitimate part of the game. With the more frequent and skillful use of the switch hit, the Committee will be asked to again consider the matter from the perspective of retaining a fair balance between bat and ball.

Decision Review System (DRS)

The committee will carry out its annual review of the Decision Review System. The Committee will, inter alia, consider actual results, the reliability of the technologies used and the extent of improvements thereto, the appropriateness of the current DRS LBW protocols and, specifically, the impact thereof on the game (balance between bat and ball).

Other items on the agenda include:

• Reports on umpire performances and player behaviour

• Pace of play and the use of substitute fielders

• Consideration of the VJD system as a method for the calculation of target scores in reduced limited overs matches.

The ICC Cricket Committee comprises:

Chairman – Clive Lloyd (former West Indies captain)

Ex-Officio (two) – Sharad Pawar (ICC President) and Haroon Lorgat (ICC Chief Executive)

Past players (two) – Ian Bishop (former West Indies fast bowler) and Mark Taylor (former Australia captain)

Representatives of current players (two) – Kumar Sangakkara (to send written comments due to his playing commitments) and Tim May (ex-Australia off-spinner, ICC Cricket World Cup winner in 1987 and now Chief Executive of FICA)

Full Member team coach representative (one) – Gary Kirsten (South Africa coach)

Women’s representative (one) – Clare Connor (former England women’s team captain who represented her country in 16 Tests and 93 ODIs, current chair of the ICC Women’s Committee)

Member Board representative (one) – David White (NZC Chief Executive)

Associate representative (one) – Trent Johnston (Former Ireland captain and current player)

Media (one) – Ravi Shastri (former India captain and a respected commentator)

Umpires’ representative (one) – Steve Davis (member of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires)

Referees’ representative (one) – Ranjan Madugalle (ICC chief match referee and former Sri Lanka captain)

MCC representative (one) – John Stephenson (MCC Head of Cricket MCC and a former England Test and first class cricketer. MCC is the guardian of the laws of cricket)

Statistician (one) – David Kendix (a statistician/scorer and the man responsible for the creation and development of the Reliance ICC Rankings; nominated by the ICC to sit on the committee)

Media arrangements:

A media conference will be held at the conclusion of the ICC Cricket Committee meeting. The conference will take place no earlier than 1500 on Thursday 31 May and will be held in the Thomas Lord Suite at Lord’s Cricket ground.

Broadcasters wishing to bring OB vans should be advised there is no parking at Lord’s due to Middlesex playing Sussex on Thursday. For any specific requests please contact MCC Filming and Photography Manager Clare Skinner on +447960 863 826. Media intending to cover the media conference are requested to show some sort of a press ID, like ECB media pass or NUJ card upon arrival at the Grace Gates.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Leave a Reply