Revised schedule for ICC Women’s WT20

Dubai, July 16, 2013: The International Cricket Council today announced a revised schedule for the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier, to be staged in Dublin, Ireland from 23-31 July. The event will now see three teams advancing to the ICC World Twenty20 2014 in Bangladesh.

The eight-team tournament is the final step in a global qualification pathway to the ICC World Twenty20 2014. Following an ICC Board decision during the ICC annual conference week in London in June, three teams from the Ireland event will progress to Bangladesh instead of one.

As a result, it is not just the tournament winner, but also the runner-up and the winner of the third-fourth place play-off that will progress to the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014.

To reflect the changed qualification structure, the tournament schedule has also been amended, with the primary change being the replacement of the Super Four stage with two semi-finals.

The three qualifying teams will join Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, South Africa and West Indies in the 2014 tournament, which will be staged from 16 March to 6 April 2014. The ICC Women’s World Twenty20 2014 will now be a 10-team tournament, and will again be held alongside the men’s event.

The teams participating in the Dublin tournament are Canada, Ireland, Japan, Netherlands, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Zimbabwe.

The decision to expand the qualification process for the ICC World Twenty20 2014 is part of the continued promotion and support of women’s cricket, with the recently announced event cycle including four ICC World Twenty20 events and two World Cups between 2015 and 2023.

The ICC will stream live the final two days of the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier 2013, including the final, the 3rd v 4th place play-off and the semi-finals free of charge at This is the first time that women’s qualification matches will be broadcast by the ICC to a global audience, marking another important step in the growth of women’s cricket globally.

Tournament schedule


Group A – Pakistan (1), Netherlands (4), Thailand (5), Zimbabwe (8)

Group B – Sri Lanka (2), Ireland (3), Canada (6), Japan (7)

Group stage

Tuesday, 23 July

Ireland v Japan (am), The Hills

Netherlands v Zimbabwe (am), YMCA

Sri Lanka v Canada (pm), The Hills

Pakistan v Thailand (pm), YMCA

Thursday, 25 July

Thailand v Netherlands (am), The Hills

Canada v Netherlands (am), Merrion

Zimbabwe v Pakistan (pm), The Hills

Japan v Sri Lanka (pm) Merrion

Saturday, 27 July

Thailand v Zimbabwe (am) The Hills

Pakistan v Netherlands (am), Merrion

Japan v Canada (pm), The Hills

Ireland v Sri Lanka, (pm), Merrion


Monday, 29 July

Trophy semi-final 1: A1 v B2 (am), YMCA (broadcast match)

Trophy semi-final 2: A2 v B1 (pm), YMCA (broadcast match)

Shield semi-final 1: A3 v B4 (am), Malahide

Shield semi-final 1: A4 v B# (pm), Malahide


Wednesday, 31 July

Trophy final (am), YMCA – both finalists progress to the ICC World Twenty20 2014 (broadcast match)

Trophy 3rd v 4th play-off (pm), YMCA – the winner progresses to the ICC World Twenty20 2014

Shield final (am), Malahide (broadcast match)

Shield 7th v 8th play-off (pm), Malahide

All morning matches (am) begin at 1000 while afternoon fixtures (pm) start at 1400 Ireland time. —- ICC

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


One response to “Revised schedule for ICC Women’s WT20”

  1. porno Avatar

    You are really a excellent webmaster. The web site loading speed is incredible. It sort of feels that you’re doing any unique trick. Moreover, The contents are masterpiece. you have done a wonderful job in this matter!

Leave a Reply