Cricket: Kenya-Namibia fixtures postponed

Dubai, May 16, 2012: The International Cricket Council (ICC) has confirmed that next month’s fixtures between Kenya and Namibia in Kenya have been postponed. Nairobi Gymkhana was to host the four-day ICC Intercontinental Cup match between the two sides from 6-9 June, followed by two 50-over-a-side Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Championship matches on 11 and 13 June.

However, due to delays related to the ongoing and changing security assessment for Kenya in general-and Nairobi in particular-and the subsequent logistics of successfully staging the match at an alternative venue, the ICC has agreed with both the participating Members that these matches be postponed until September 2012. The final dates and venue for the September matches will be announced in due course after a further assessment of the situation.

ICC Intercontinental Cup

The ICC Intercontinental Cup has quickly grown in stature and profile since its inception seven years ago. The ICC’s premier first-class tournament is an integral part of the Associate Members’ cricket schedule. There will be a total of US$254,000 in prize money for the Associate and Affiliate teams taking part in the ICC Intercontinental Cup 2011-13, with US$100,000 for the winners and US$40,000 for the runners-up.

Teams finishing in third and fourth place with receive US$20,000 and US$10,000 respectively while an outright win by any team during the course of the round-robin stage will see it walk away with US$3,000 per match.

Having previously been designed around a two-group, three-day format, the event then evolved into an eight-team, round-robin and truly global tournament featuring four-day cricket which gives those teams who do not play Test cricket the chance to experience the longer form of the game. This year’s format will include eight teams – Afghanistan, Canada, Ireland, Kenya, Netherlands, Scotland, Namibia and United Arab Emirates.

Scotland won the first ICC Intercontinental Cup in 2004, beating Canada in the final, while Ireland has been victorious in three events since then, beating Kenya in the 2005 decider, Canada in the 2006-07 event, Namibia in 2007-08. In 2009-10 Afghanistan won the competition.

Pepsi ICC WCL Championship

The Pepsi ICC WCL Championship, together with the ongoing global divisions of the Pepsi ICC World Cricket League (WCL), is an extremely important event on the calendar of ICC Development Programme as it provides a dual pathway for all Associate and Affiliate Members to qualify for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 to be staged in Australia and New Zealand.

The top two teams from the WCL Championship will automatically join ICC’s 10 Full Members in the ICC CWC 2015, while the bottom six teams in the WCL Championship will receive a second qualifying opportunity when they will lock horns for the remaining two places in the ICC CWC 2015 by competing in the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier (CWCQ) in early 2014.

fixtures fixtures fixtures fixtures fixtures fixtures fixtures fixtures fixtures fixtures fixtures fixtures fixtures

Print Friendly, PDF & Email





Leave a Reply