CPL congratulates West Indies after clinching historic treble

Dublin, April 4, 2016: Damien O’Donohoe, Chief Executive Officer of the HERO Caribbean Premier League (CPL) has offered his congratulations to the West Indies team after Darren Sammy’s side defeated England by four wickets in the most dramatic ICC World T20 final ever seen in Kolkata on Sunday on the greatest day in the history of West Indies cricket.

Speaking from Eden Gardens following the victory, a delighted Mr O’Donohoe said: “I’ve never been to a World Cup final before and to be here in Eden Gardens on the greatest day ever in West Indies cricket, cheering on the women’s and men’s teams, is an amazing feeling and an enormous privilege.

“The people across the Caribbean will be partying for a month after this! I’m still shaking and it’s a day I’ll never forget for as long as I live. I just can’t wait for CPL to start now. Taking the World Champions into the USA this year will be so exciting for all involved.

“Against all odds the West Indies came from behind to seize back the initiative and credit to Carlos Brathwaite who built on Marlon Samuels’ stunning innings and Samuel Badree’s great bowling spell earlier to propel the team to glory and announce himself on the world stage.

“But this wasn’t about one individual. This was about the collective. And I have no doubt that CPL fans will come out in huge numbers this summer to cheer on their heroes as well as some of the biggest names in the world game. Today was without doubt the greatest moment in West Indies’ history and the CPL will be there every step of the way to help develop the game and build on these incredible successes.

“On behalf of the CPL I would like to extend my congratulations to the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB), coach Phil Simmons, captain Darren Sammy and the entire West Indies team and management on their performances in India.

“Congratulations are also due to women’s coach Vasbert Drakes, captain Stafanie Taylor and the women’s team who also clinched the title earlier in the day after defeating Australia in another fantastic game. The CPL are extremely proud of all the players and coaches who have catapulted West Indies back to their rightful place at the top table of world cricket and this is a great day for the fans who are the best in the world.

“Following on from the victorious ICC Under-19 World Cup team in Bangladesh in January, who will have representatives competing in each of our six franchises this season, today’s results again highlight the enormous mark that the West Indies continues to make on the global game.

“The performance of the players summed up all of the great virtues of West Indies cricket, which have been evident over the last few weeks. From individual flair, to collective power, precision and a never-say-die attitude, the men’s team has grown from strength to strength since the first round victory over England.

“I have no doubt that the performances in Bangladesh and here in India over the last few weeks will herald a golden era for West Indies cricket.”

Meanwhile, tickets for all of the confirmed CPL fixtures to date, including the previously announced fixtures in St Kitts & Nevis (30 June-5 July) will go on sale this Friday (8 April) from www.cplt20.com. Ticket prices will start at (US Dollar) $23 – $92.50 for a single match, while tickets for one of the weekend double-headers are priced from $43 to $132.50. Further ticket announcements for the other franchises are expected over the coming fortnight.
FORT LAUDERDALE FIXTURES (all times local): 28 July – Guyana Amazon Warriors v Barbados Tridents (7pm), 29 July St Kitts & Nevis Patriots v Trinbago Knight Riders (7pm),30 July – Zouks v Jamaica Tallawahs (midday), Barbados Tridents v Guyana Amazon Warriors (4pm), 31 July – Trinbago Knight Riders v St Kitts & Nevis Patriots (midday), Jamaica Tallawahs v Zouks (4pm).

CPL ROLL OF HONOUR: Jamaica Tallawahs (2013), Barbados Tridents (2014), Trinidad & Tobago Red Steel (2015)


BARBADOS TRIDENTS: Kieron Pollard, AB de Villiers*, Shoaib Malik, Nicholas Pooran, Ravi Rampaul, David Wiese, Robin Peterson, Raymon Reifer, Ashley Nurse, Wayne Parnell, Akeal Hosein, Imran Khan, Kyle Hope, Navin Stewart, Kyle Corbin, Steven Taylor
GUYANA AMAZON WARRIORS: Sohail Tanvir, Martin Guptill*, Dwayne Smith, Chris Lynn, Rayad Emrit, Adam Zampa, Jason Mohammed, Christopher Barnwell, Veerasammy Permaul, Orlando Peters, Assad Fudadin, Anthony Bramble, Paul Wintz, Steven Jacobs, Steven Katwaroo, Ali Khan

JAMAICA TALLAWAHS: Chris Gayle, Kumar Sangakkara*, Shakib Al Hasan, Andre Russell, Imad Wasim, Lasith Malinga, Rovman Powell, Chadwick Walton, Jon-Russ Jaggesar, Andre McCarthy, Jonathan Foo, Alex Ross, Kesrick Williams, Nkrumah Bonner, Garey Mathurin, Timroy Allen

ST KITTS & NEVIS PATRIOTS: Lendl Simmons, Faf du Plessis*, Samuel Badree, Brad Hodge, Thisara Perera, Jonathan Carter, Krishmar Santokie, Evin Lewis, Tabraiz Shamsi, Kieran Powell, JJ Smuts, Devon Thomas, Shamarh Brooks, Tino Best, Jeremiah Louis, Nikhil Dutta

TRINBAGO KNIGHT RIDERS: Dwayne Bravo, Brendon McCullum*, Sunil Narine, Hashim Amla, Umar Akmal, Kevon Cooper, Sulieman Benn, Colin Munro, Anton Devcich, Ronsford Beaton, Nikita Miller, Javon Searles, William Perkins, Yannick Cariah, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Hamza Tariq
ZOUKS: David Miller, Shane Watson*, Darren Sammy, Michael Hussey, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Morne Morkel, Fidel Edwards, Derone Davis, Eddie Leie, Keron Cottoy, Shane Shillingford, Delorn Johnson, Kyle Mayers, Keddy Lesporis, Nitish Kumar. —- CPL

Print Friendly, PDF & Email






Leave a Reply