Clare Connor hails schedule of ICC women’s events

Dubai, June 30, 2013: Chair of the ICC Women’s Committee Clare Connor has hailed the decision by the IDI Board which approved six global women’s tournaments in the next ICC events calendar from 2016-2023.

The schedule will see two ICC Women’s World Cups as well as four ICC World Twenty20 events, including the continuation of the highly successful joint men’s and women’s events of the ICC World Twenty20 in 2016 and 2020 in India and Australia, respectively. In 2018 in the West Indies and 2022 in South Africa, the women’s event will be a stand-alone tournament.

Speaking from London, a happy Connor said: “I am delighted with the schedule of women’s events through to 2023. It is a great outcome for women’s cricket.

“The agreement of a schedule that incorporates a fixed cycle for women’s events illustrates how seriously women’s cricket is taken by the International Cricket Council. Following on from the highly successful ICC Women’s World Cup recently in India, an event that clearly showcased the increasing depth, talent and excitement in women’s cricket, this cycle provides a great platform for the continuing growth of women’s cricket.

“The past two ICC World Twenty20s have been joint men’s and women’s events, and have been significant opportunities to show off the women’s game on a global stage in front of a huge broadcast audience. We welcome the decision to continue this for the 2016 and 2020 events, while also embracing the opportunity to hold two stand-alone events in 2018 and 2022.”

There was more good news for women’s cricket when the IDI Board also agreed to expand the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 to a 10-team tournament.

This means that the top three teams from the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier 2013, to be held in Dublin, Ireland, from 23-31 July, will now join Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, South Africa and West Indies in the 2014 tournament that will be staged from 16 March to 6 April 2014.

Teams participating in the Dublin tournament are Canada, Ireland, Japan, Netherlands, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Zimbabwe.

Subject to finalising relevant agreements with Members, the ICC women’s major global events for the period 2016-2023 are:

• ICC World Twenty20 2016 (joint men’s and women’s) – BCCI

• ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 – ECB

• ICC Women’s World Twenty20 2018 – WICB

• ICC World Twenty20 2020 (joint men’s and women’s) – Cricket Australia

• ICC Women’s World Cup 2021 – NZC

• ICC Women’s World Twenty20 2022 – CSA

Print Friendly, PDF & Email





Leave a Reply