FIBA Europe the Race For Player of The Year is On

FIBA Europe Press Release Dec 08, 2011: The race is on for the most prestigious individual honour in European basketball, as FIBA Europe has announced the nominees for its annual Player of the Year awards. The 2011 Awards include all four established categories: Men, Young Men, Women and Young Women.

The winners in each category will be decided by the public and an expert panel vote. Players born in 1991 or after are eligible for the Young Men and Young Women awards. Voting in all four categories will cease on 31 January 2012.

The winners will be announced through in early February and will be later presented with a special trophy.

The FIBA Europe Player of the Year awards were established in 2005, with stars like Dirk Nowitzki, Pau Gasol and Maria Stepanova among the winners in the last six years. The reigning players of the year are Nika Baric of Slovenia for the Young Women, Czech point guard Hana Horakova for the Women, NBA draftee Jan Vesely for the Young Men and Serbia point guard Milos Teodosic.

Out of the fans who vote and register with their name and email address, three can win EuroBasket jerseys, signed by the medal-winning players of Spain, France and Russia.

10 more voters will be drawn to receive FIBA Europe merchandise packages.

Basketball fans can read through the candidates’ profiles and vote on

FIBA Europe Player of the Year 2011 – Men

FIBA Europe Player of the Year 2011 – Women

FIBA Europe Player of the Year 2011 – Young Men

FIBA Europe Player of the Year 2011 – Young Women

Print Friendly, PDF & Email





Leave a Reply