24 teams to compete at FIBA EuroBasket 2017

Munich, Sept 18, 2016: The 24 teams to compete at FIBA EuroBasket 2017 have been confirmed, following the completion of the FIBA EuroBasket 2017 Qualifiers on Saturday evening.


Entering the final day of the Qualifiers, there were still ten teams remaining in the race for the final six spots available. Those final six tickets went to Georgia, Germany, and Poland, who won their respective groups, along with Great Britain, Iceland and Ukraine, who joined Montenegro as the four best second-placed teams.

In order to find the best four of the second-placed teams, games against the bottom-placed teams in each of the four-team groups were disregarded, creating the following scenario:
MNE 3-1 +65
ISL 3-1 +24
GBR 2-2 +17
UKR 2-2 -3
NED 2-2 -16
BIH 2-2 -35
EST 1-3 -42

The full list of teams to participate at FIBA EuroBasket 2017 is:
• Belgium
• Croatia
• Czech Republic
• Finland
• France
• Germany
• Georgia
• Great Britain
• Greece
• Hungary
• Iceland
• Israel
• Italy
• Latvia
• Lithuania
• Montenegro
• Poland
• Romania
• Russia
• Serbia
• Slovenia
• Spain
• Turkey
• Ukraine

FIBA EuroBasket 2017 takes place from 31 August to 17 September in Cluj-Napoca (ROU), Helsinki (FIN), Istanbul (TUR) and Tel Aviv (ISR), with Istanbul also hosting the Final Phase.

The Draw for the Final Round will be hosted by Turkey on 22 November.

All teams that did not qualify for FIBA EuroBasket 2017 have the right to participate in the pre-qualification round next summer to qualify eight teams to Division A of the 2019 FIBA Basketball World Cup Qualifiers.

The pre-qualification round will be played between 2-19 August 2017.

The 2019 FIBA Basketball World Cup Qualifiers tip off in November 2017 and mark the beginning of FIBA’s new competition system. —- FIBA

Print Friendly, PDF & Email






Leave a Reply