Prezelj to replace Fredericks on IAAF Taskforce

Monaco, Mar 6, 2017: IAAF President Sebastian Coe has appointed IAAF Athletes’ Commission Chairperson Rozle Prezelj to replace IAAF Council Member Frank Fredericks who, with the agreement of the president, has stepped aside as a member of the five strong IAAF Taskforce which is coordinating the re-admittance process concerning the suspended Russian athletics federation RusAF.

“I have decided to step aside from the taskforce so that the integrity of its work is not questioned due to the allegations made against me in Le Monde. It is important that the taskforce’s mission is seen as free and fair with no outside influence,” commented Fredericks.

Fredericks, who is the Honorary Chairperson of the IAAF Athletes’ Commission and a former Chairperson of the IOC Athletes’ Commission, represented the athletes’ voice on the Taskforce.

Prezelj, the Slovenian former high jumper who represented his country at four IAAF World Championships and three Olympic Games, already serves as an ex-officio member of the IAAF Council.

Prezelj joins the Taskforce which is composed of independent chair Rune Andersen (NOR), and three IAAF Council Members Abby Hoffman (CAN), Anna Riccardi (ITA) and Geoff Gardner (NFI) with immediate effect.

Sebastian Coe confirmed: “The IAAF Taskforce’s work is of utmost importance in rebuilding confidence in Russia whose national system has failed the aspirations of clean athletes and the integrity of competition. Their coordination with RusAF and the monitoring of its acceptance of and adherence to the verification criteria and reinstatement conditions is crucial as we work to return athletes to international competition in a safe environment for all.” —- IAAF

Frank Fredericks Frank FredericksFrank Fredericks Frank Fredericks Frank Fredericks Frank Fredericks Frank Fredericks Frank Fredericks

Print Friendly, PDF & Email





Leave a Reply