Candidates announced for IAAF athletes’ commission elections

July 10, 2015: The IAAF has received 16 nominations for the six available seats on the IAAF Athletes’ Commission.

All athletes accredited for IAAF World Championships, Beijing 2015 will have the right to vote in the elections, which will take place during the championships between 23 and 29 August in the official team hotels.

To be eligible for nomination, athletes must have participated in at least one of the past two editions of the IAAF World Championships or in the most recent Olympic Games or be a competitor at this year’s IAAF World Championships.

The names of the six elected members of the commission will be announced before the end of the championships and they will begin their mandate on 1 January 2016.

“Athletes are a vital pillar in sports and should remain at the heart of the decision-making process in all sport governing bodies,” said Frank Fredericks, chairman of the IAAF Athletes’ Commission.

“I have seen how the Athletes’ Commission has not only acted as a voice for athletes, but helped to provide improved opportunities to athletes. It is our sincere hope that the new team builds on the foundation that has been set by the current and past members.

“I wish all the 16 candidates all the best with the election process.”

The nominees, in alphabetical order, are:

Valerie Adams (NZL)
Mehdi Baala (FRA)
Mutaz Essa Barshim (QAT)
Nataliia Dobrynska (UKR)
Michael Frater (JAM)
Jacques Frisch (LUX)
Yelena Isinbaeva (RUS)
Vanda Juhasz (HUN)
Ezekiel Kemboi (KEN)
Fabiana Murer (BRA)
Koji Murofushi (JPN)
Blessing Okagbare (NGR)
Christian Olsson (SWE)
Aliann Pompey (GUY)
Alina Talay (BLR)
Andreas Thorkildsen (NOR). —- IAAF

Print Friendly, PDF & Email





Leave a Reply