Record 26 Nations to compete in WBSC U-19 Women’s Softball World Championship

Lausanne, Apr 13, 2017: Marking 100 days until the start of the 2017 WBSC Junior Women’s Softball World Championship, the World Baseball Softball Confederation today announced that a record number of National Teams will compete in the youth softball flagship event.

Twenty-six nations will take the global stage at the 12th WBSC Junior Women’s Softball World Championship in Clearwater, Florida, USA, from 24-30 July.

The highest competition for women’s youth softball will bring together the world’s top women’s softball nations from all five Olympic regions:

Africa (1): South Africa
Americas (10): No. 30 Argentina, Bahamas, No. 11 Brazil, No. 3 Canada, No. 24 Dominican Republic, No. 20 Guatemala, No. 10 Mexico, No. 21 Peru, No. 7 Puerto Rico, No. 2 United States
Asia (6): No. 6 China, No. 9 Chinese Taipei, No. 36 India, No. 1 Japan, No. 26 Korea, No. 17 Philippines
Europe (7): No. 13 Czech Republic, No. 14 Great Britain, No. 31 Ireland, No. 37 Israel, No. 12 Italy, No. 8 Netherlands, Turkey
Oceania (2): No. 4 Australia, No. 5 New Zealand

Turkey will be making their historic debut in the youth world championship.

“The largest field of teams competing in this year’s World Championship highlights the growing popularity and reach of softball across all regions and ages of the world,” said WBSC Softball Division President Dale McMann. “The location and top notch facilities will be an asset for these top youth female softball athletes to compete. This is an important competition opportunity for this age category to be able to continue to test their skills against their counterparts from around the world.”

As hosts, the United States is looking to defend their world title after capturing the title in 2015 by defeating world No. 1 Japan.


WBSC has appointed 30 umpires from 23 countries from all corners of the world to officiate in the 12th WBSC Junior Women’s Softball World Championship.

The umpirin staff will be represented from Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Chinese Taipei, Cuba, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Great Britain, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korea, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico, South Africa, and USA. —- WBSC

Print Friendly, PDF & Email





Leave a Reply